Queen of the back Roads

Yup, I’m Queen of the backroads….if you have read my earlier posts then you will know, I HATE to drive through town.

So, Yesterday I had to go to the folks house and then go to the Kids house to watch Cam-theMan while his Daddy (the son-in-law) go for another test for his “new” job (which by the Grace of God he got).

So I fly over to the kid’s house and get to spend about an hour with Cam-the-man

While his Daddy AKA son-in-law AKA the fisher-dude…

took another test…this one was a semi-physical…he said he had to do lifts and stuff…but I digress AGAIN….

I was on my way back to the folks house and was driving down the road and I swear I thought I had lost my muffler.  It was a VERY LOUD noise that had me turn onto W. Newell Road, (I know this because I ended up telling 3 different people about it) and pull over and get out and walk around my vehicle.  YUP, I gotta flat tire…uhm.. ok…I’ve only had the Rav4 for a couple of months and I’ve never read the manual (I don’t even know where the jack for the car is ok?) But I do remember that I have Road side Assistance not only on my Insurance but ALSO through the Toyota dealership as well.  I got this….I get on the cell phone and call the 1-800 # on my window (passenger side 2nd door)  “Uhm..hello I have a flat and I don’t know where the jack is to change my tire…. uhm..ok I don’t even know where the crow bar (???) is to get my lug nuts off the tire is”  “Ok..we will be there to help you and we will cover the first $100 to get you back on the road”  Ok…  that’s cool I’ll just sit here and wait for help. 

Meanwhile I call the Electrician to tell him…Uhmm Honey I have no cash and I left the checkbook at home so if I have to pay something I’m gonna use the Credit Card.  He says ok no problem.  So here I am sitting in my car because EVERYBODY says sit in your car and wait for help.  And ya know what….I sat there for about a half an hour and only 3 nice looking gentleman stopped to ask me if I needed help and I told them nah, but Thank you! 

Meanwhile I get a call from the Farmer who tells me “Larry just called I wanna go harvest some beans…”  “uhm ok…go ahead I’ll be there  in a few minutes roadside just called me and they will be here in 10 minutes so go ahead and go and tell Mom I’ll be there in a few minutes…”    Then the Electrician calls me and says “Are you in your car?”  “Uhm yup why”  “The police have helicopters and a swat team cuz somethings going on and it’s on the road your on”  “Uhm… ok I can see for about 2 miles and there’s nothing but ok I will sit in my car and lock the doors”…

Then…I am looking up the hill and low and behold Carnaghi’s Towing pulls up next to my Rav4 and gets out and changes my tire, not needing a carjack or nothin’…  He was a really nice guy that took care of my flat tire in no time at all (probably about 8 minutes top).  Fixed my flat tire and told me to Have a nice day Ma’am….Now I know why I bought that extra service at the dealership…So I was on my way…got to the folks house and Mom was cleaning…  okay…maybe flooding the kitchen but it’s ok….we all survived and no-one was hurt.  Altho I spent the next hour re-cleaning her flood in the kitchen but ya know what it was ok…..

And by the way….I’ll still take the back roads…and the hulibalu about the police and swat team, apparently there was an armed robbery and it wasn’t even close to where I was, and they caught the guys that did it…uhmm…about 6 miles from where I was….so see…nothin to worry about…:)

Leave a Reply

