you can choose yer friends but not yer family…

See this?  Well this was in the year 1979, the year I graduated.  This would be my cousin Tracie Anders Collins.   She flew all the way from Illinois to England, to watch my happy butt Graduate from High School.  It was an experience to her and daily living for me.  You see, I had grown up in England, and she grew up in Illinois with her family (my cousins and my Grandma).

Tracie and I were pen-pals for so many years I can’t even begin to explain.  She lived in the town and grew up in the town that I now live in.

Over the years Tracie and I have kept in touch, she’s part of my “heritage”, and I love her dearly.  Today, my cousin Tracie finished a 60 mile walk for Cancer.  She did it because so many of her class-mates have got the disease and died from the disease…Tracie, came to visit this past summer.  She came back to her childhood home, which the Farmer bought and now lives in.  I think it was kind of wierd to her, I completely understand that…..

We had a short visit that I think we both wanted a little more out of but, time has it’s way with us…huh…She had to visit so many people in the small amount of time that she had, and I am thankful for the time we had together.  The last time I saw her…

Was 1985…gosh Tracie, we are getting old….  Her baby was new…now she is all grown up with 2 babies of her own….Where does the time go?

Basically this post is to tell my relative…the would be you Tracie…how Proud I am of you on your accomplishment.  In Tracie’s own words….

“I made it but can’t walk,
Muscles, legs did good. But, have blisters on 7 of 10 toes. Won’t post pictures. Going to lose at least 3 toe nails. Barb was a true friend and my hand through the whole walk. She is remarkable. Thank you Brandy and Patrick for being at finish line. Thank you TIM for babying me. Thanks Bev for spoiling us. Thanks Courtney for inspiring me. Thanks Cheryl for being my hero. Thanks ALL for your prayers and support” 

This woman just walked 60 miles for a cause she believes in and THAT inspires me…..

Love you Tracie…:):)

One response

  1. The deepest heart, the most open soul, the compassion of Mother Theresa……she gives and gives and gives and never asks. JoJo you are a remarkable woman – I am proud of you. Always sharing the joy and love. I love my card – you have such a special spot in my heart. Love Always P.

Leave a Reply

