Queen of the Floor Part II

Yup, if you haven’t guessed by the title, Momma got up again last night and took another spill, thus she has been renamed…Queen of the floor.

I got another one of those phone calls this morning, “Joanne”, “yea”, “I don’t know how she got there but she’s on the floor”.  “Ok, I’ll get dressed and on my way.”

So, smelling like Vick’s vapor rub, and shaking off the Thera-flu effect, I threw on some clothes (Ok sweats really), jumped into the Rav 4 and hit the road.  Only, to discover my Rav4 was screaming at me with the ding-ding-dong, I need gas.  So, I stopped at my local gas stop, got gas AND a pumpkin spice cappuccino, and flew down the back roads (all in less than 30 minutes I might add).

Well the first thing I did when I got there was to assess the damage.  Momma was ok, and I really don’t think she had been there all that long.  She skinned herself up pretty good, and I’m not sure how her head got underneath the bed, but well, we got her up and back into bed.  It wasn’t that hard this time.  Altho I did ask her why she wanted to have a tea party on the floor at 7:30 am.

The farmer and I gave her 8 am meds, and tucked her up and told her to relax, which she did, and went back to sleep. 

The farmer and I had a closed-door discussion for 30 minutes, and came up with a plan.  Neither one of us can figure out just how she managed to get out of bed.  But the bed-rail only covers a portion of her bed, so guess what?  We ordered a couple of more bed-rails for her today and figure if we can surround her bed with rails then she can’t get out right?  Well…we shall see.  If that fails we do have a back up plan.

Poor Momma has no idea….I found out more of the story when I got her to go to the bathroom and she had a really hard time, she explained to me that she had stood in the same position for an hour this morning and her bones got stiff and she couldn’t move and she cursed Dr. SOD-OFF a thousand times.  I did ask the Farmer who this Dr. was and he just looked perplexed until my Momma said, you know that Dr. I don’t like…The Farmer just laughed… Uhm…I seriously do not know who Dr. Sod-Off is but my Momma is British and I KNOW what SOD-off means…hehehe…. 

 Momma was doing better when I left and I told the Farmer to call me if he needed my help this evening, I haven’t had any phone-calls, and not that I wouldn’t go if he called but I think I have over-dosed on Thera-flu, and the smell of Vicks Vapor Rub is kinda overpowering…. Sorry to the Electrician, but he is living with it. 

I did see Cam-man today too, I watched him for an hour while the Nursing student went to class.  He’s not feeling that great either, we pretty much just snuggled and had snacks and kool-aid and watched Curious George on t.v.  The nursing student has it too, I told her about the Vics Vapor rub…we’ll see how it goes tomorrow….

But I am reminded of something…This too shall pass…..

One response

  1. I once read something that helps me at times like this: “This is just a moment. It isn’t the rest of your life.”

Leave a Reply

