Friday, sleep in and Switch up….

Today dawned a little to early for me.  The alarm clock was set for 6 am, but as usually my internal body clock went off at 5:22am.  I didn’t want to be late for picking Cam-Man up today.  Friday’s are usually VERY long days.  I peaked at the clock and made myself go back to sleep for a half an hour.  I guess I had just drifted off when the alarm clock rudely interrupted .

I got up and decided to forgo the usual and I went and picked up Cam-Man in my p.j.’s.  It was kinda fun and daring.  Cam-Man was in his bed, when I arrived,  his little butt stuck up in the air, and him just snoozing.  The Nursing student woke him up, and I grabbed some clothes and down the road we went.  Cam-Man kind of woke up when we drove into my little home town.  When we passed the graveyard and drove a few more minutes and turned down my street, he woke up and YELLED..”We’re HERE POPPA”.

That lil kid woke UP, and when I parked in front of the house, instead of the driveway, (because I was leaving the Rav4 for them and I still had to leave, I was taking the truck.)  Cam-Man came flying out of the Rav4 and kept looking at the door, when it opened and his Poppa was on the other side, well…I don’t have words to describe BOTH of them.

Cam-Man KNEW he was going to spend the day with his Poppa, and he didn’t have a hard time telling Geema BYE, after blowing me kisses from the window, and waving until I was out of sight.

I went down the road to the Farmer’s.  I was a little later than usual, but this was all part of my plan.  (hehehe, yea right I have a plan?)  I got to the Farmer’s and he had an appointment that he had to go to, so, I sent him on his way.  The Farmer had already given Momma her 8 am meds, so I just changed her bed stuff, making her roll, like a jelly roll all over the bed.  When she was clean and dry, I told her the secret.  “Psst…Momma, today is friday and you get to sleep in for a while, is that ok with you?”  “Yep, I’ll let you know when I’m ready to get up ok?”, was what she told me.

So, while Momma slept in, I got all of the Farmer’s laundry done,  Some of Momma’s laundry, cleaned the bathrooms, mopped all the floors, and straightened up some.  I gave Momma her meds, and changed her stuff and rolled her over, and she was still sleeping.

The Farmer got back home and I made him a meatloaf sammich, Momma still slept.  I finally went in and told Momma it was time to get up and I raised her window blinds and let the sun in.  She looked at me and asked “A few more minutes, PLEASE?”.  Ok, I gave in. 

About 15 minutes later, I went in and it was time to get up.  Momma was ready, her limbs were “loose”, and she had no problem going through the morning routine (although it was now afternoon).  Momma got up and walked to her chair with barely any assistance, (although a note to the Farmer, Don’t tell Momma she is doing it on her own, she get’s scared and then acts crazy).

Momma sat in her chair for a few minutes and I got stuff ready, and the Farmer did too. We were going to have Momma walk to the kitchen sink and get her hair washed today.  We have the “caps” that we use to wash her hair, and while they work, sometimes it’s just nice to get a good scalp massage and get all the oils back to normal.

Everything was in place and the Farmer and I got Momma up and into the kitchen, she stared out the window for a minute or two and remarked she missed looking out this window.   We got busy and got Momma’s hair washed (the newly mopped kitchen floor kind of went through the wringer but it was worth it). 

Folks, Momma did so good that the Farmer, and I AND Momma were so proud.  She did everything we asked her to do and then some.  Momma needs to learn trust, and I think she learned that today.  The Farmer and I kept her SAFE and she realized that today.    She remarked to me when her hair had been washed and she was in her chair after I had blow-dryed her hair.  “Joanne, you and your Dad love me don’t you?” 

“Yes, Momma we do, and we would never hurt you or let you fall”  She replied to me…

“I’m learning that.  Thank you for today, I really enjoyed having my hair washed, and you two keep me safe, I Love both of you”.

“We love you Momma”

 

One response

Leave a Reply

