Say Hello to my little friend….

The Electrician and I decided we would grill out burgers today.  Folks, it’s hot here in Central Illinois, today we reached 91′.  WOOHOO.  While it is only May, and it might mean we are going to have a scorching summer, the yard will burn up and the garden might flounder, I’m sorry, I’m a warm girl.  I will take the heat over the cold any day.

But, I digress.  We went outside to start the grill and the Electrician noticed a baby turtle on my porch (no doubt slapped here by Ms. Baby, who has been nosing in the grass now for a couple of days in the same spot.) 

When we found the poor thing he was riddled with dirt and not quite sure of his surroundings.  He was so tiny he fit into my hand.

You can’t really see him that good.  It was obvious he was scared.  We weren’t sure what to do with him, but the Electrician had the idea to put him in our “baby pool”.  I was afraid he would drown, so I told him to put him on the floaty.  That little turtle dude loved the water, the next thing we knew he was swimming around the pool having a blast.

So, we decided it was time for our new “kid” to be let go into the pond.  The Electrician took him down to the bank of the pond, and set him down and then backed up a couple of steps.  Little turtle dude, took off with a splash.  He is now happily swimming in the pond in my backyard, and I hope he grows up big and remembers “his human parents”.

2 responses

  1. Nice story. I’ve got a warm feeling (just as well, it’s perishing here in NE UK)

Leave a Reply

