Baby Boomers, Sandwich Generation and Me….

I learned a new term yesterday and I’ve been mulling it around in my head, and I guess, it makes some sort of sense.

My generation of folks, are often referred to as the “Baby Boomers“.  According to Wikipedia this is the definition given:

        A baby boomer is a person who was born during the demographic Post-World War II baby boom between the years 1946 and 1964, according to the U.S. Census Bureau.

Yesterday I heard the term “The Sandwich Generation I had never heard this expression before, but I looked it up, again on Wikipedia:   

        The Sandwich generation is a generation of people who care for their aging parents while supporting their own children.

  • Traditional: those sandwiched between aging parents who need care and/or help and their own children.
  • Club Sandwich: those in their 50s or 60s sandwiched between aging parents, adult children and grandchildren, or those in their 30s and 40s, with young children, aging parents and grandparents.

I guess that I thought, that while I am not the ONLY person taking care of their parent who has Parkinson’s disease, or any disease for that matter, it never occurred to me that other people take care of both a parent, and their grandchild, or their child for that matter.

So, after realizing this, I feel a bit comforted in the fact, that I’m not the only one that has feelings of being overwhelmed at times.  My current state of mind lately has been just that.  Overwhelmed.  Sometimes, there just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day, to accomplish all I want to.

The funniest thing about this, my favorite saying to everyone used to be “The world is round, and I’ll get there”.  This saying has been used on me in the last couple of days, and I guess I just have to laugh, and realize the truth in this statement.

After being invited to use my post on the web site http://www.scoop.it/t/sandwich-generation, and then going to the actual site and reading some of the other bloggers posts.  I have found, I am not alone.  While I have a lot of blogger friends that are going through Parkinson’s with their loved one’s, and I read each post, and sometimes make comments, sometimes not, I take their experience and see if it will work in my situation.  If I see other’s in experiences that I have gone through, I try to give another spin on it, by what I’ve dealt with.  Because believe it or not, while the faces are different,. the situations are different, we are all dealing with a seriously sucky thing.

Caregiving is a difficult thing to do,  be it you are the spouse, the brother, the sister, the daughter, the son or whatever.  But it appears to me through the blogging world, we all kind of make a difference to each other.

So, thank you to my blogging world, I do appreciate all of you.  You all have also helped me in more ways than you know, be it clicking like on my blog, or just reading it, even making comments.

Night ya’ll!

2 responses

  1. You are not alone!

    1. smack to the forhead, You are in the same situation as I am, and I did not even realize it duh, Glad to have you as a friend Jules!

Leave a Reply

