Domestic Saturday…

Today dawned with the promise of another day, and the promise of it being HOT.  I had my agenda all ready.  I’m having guests come over for the rest of the weekend, so my plan, was to shape up my house and do all those Domestic Goddess things, that I do at the Farmer’s, to my house.

So, after finishing the grocery list and giving it to the Electrician, he went off down the road.  Me?  I got busy.  Laundry, dusting, cleaning bathrooms, vacuuming, mopping floors, and the regular Domestic Goddess stuff.  Of course this was only after having 3 cups of coffee, reading my e-mail, playing on Facebook, and checking my blog.

I did do one thing  unusual today.  I made my own laundry soapThe Electrician had found a recipe for laundry soap and asked me if I wanted to try it.  Well…duh…in case any of you have been to the Grocery store lately (uhm, don’t look at me, because anyone that reads my blog KNOWS I’m not ALLOWED in a grocery store.)  ok, I digress AGAIN.

Laundry soap in the grocery store is unreasonably priced in my opinion.  The recipe for the laundry soap included 3 ingredients,  which the Electrician bought for me.  I followed the recipe, and made 10 gallons of laundry soap, for about the cost of $3.25.  Now, according to a friend of mine who made this same recipe, the 10 gallons lasted her for about 3 months, she has twins, and her and her husband.  I don’t know about you, but I am willing to save a couple of pennies (ok A LOT of pennies), for what took me about 45 minutes to make.  I think the reason it took me so long was because I was unsure about if the Fels- Naptha soap had dissolved.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ll let y’all know how it works.  It sure smells good though.

After all of the domestic duties were done, I decided it was time to hit the pool.  I had worked up a sweat, and was ready to relax.  I laid in the pool for about 15 minutes, and got out and decided to dry off reading a magazine underneath the deck.  The phone rang, it was the Electrician asking me if I was going to help him unload groceries.  I came in through the sliding glass door and about had a heart attack.  The Electrician was hiding on the other side and totally spooked me.  Rotten rat.  We put away all of the groceries, and then we both laid in the pool, and giggled and just had an over-all great time.

The Electrician did surprise me though.  In those bags of groceries, he splurged, for dinner tonite, we had Ribeye steaks, corn on the cob and baked potato’s. (in honor of my HOT Potato award).

Life is good with me folks, I hope for you too.

 

One response

  1. You do pack a lot in your day! Next time I have some housework to do, I will remember this. You’re a real inspiration!

Leave a Reply

