Freak Me Out Monday….

My Monday started off kinda the same way my Friday went.  I got my happy butt out of bed at 5:15 am, and did a few things around my house.  Then, off down the road I went to the Farmer’s.  Today, hopefully he was going to visit the Vampire, and it would be all good.

I arrived at the Farmer’s, and the Farmer and I shared a moment.  You see, sometimes I forget that he religiously reads my blog, and one of my posts hit him pretty hard.  We had a big hug, and I shooed him out the door.

While he was gone, I started a load of Momma‘s laundry, gave her the 8am meds,  and got his breakfast ready.  He returned to the house about a half hour after he left it.  He walked in with a big grin, and grabbed the cup of coffee I had ready for him.    The Vampire had done it, and he had the green light for his Doctor’s appointment on Friday.

We finished up breakfast, and we were sitting there chatting, when I got a call on my cell phone.  I thought it was the Electrician calling me to let me know he got my message, that I had got an appointment for him with Chiropractor today at 4:00 pm.

I answered the phone and it was the Nursing Student.  Now, I don’t know about y’all, but any conversation that starts out with “I have to tell you something, and I really do not want you to freak out”.  Well, I kinda freaked out, but remained calm, and took my phone outside and sat down on the back step, and said “What’s up and I won’t freak out ok?”.

Apparently, Our lil’ Cam-Man was playing super hard with his brother last night and came flying out of his room and slid on the rug, tripped over a ball, and broke his leg.    I was a little shaken but kept it together and told her I would be over at 11:30 am, to do what I could and give her a little break.   Folks, she only got 3 hours of sleep, and Cam-Man had about 3 hours of sleep.  They splinted his leg, and she had to call to make an appointment to have a cast put on.  Put poor lil Cam-Man was in a lot of pain.

 

I hung up the phone and went in to tell the Farmer what happened, and I thought HE was gonna cry.  While Cam-Man may be the apple of his Poppa‘s eye, he is the apple of his Great Poppa’s eye too.  The Farmer was worried about his little buddy.

I left the Farmer’s after getting Momma up and giving her the 11;00 am meds.   I had already finished 1 load of laundry and put the second load in the dryer which HEY FARMER, I forgot to tell you they are in the dryer.  Oh well, I guess I’ll fold them tomorrow.

I called the Nursing Student and then stopped and got some Children’s Motrin, which the Doctor had told her to give him for pain.  I also picked up a 12 pack of ice cream cups, because of tradition.

You see when my boys were about the same age, I made a lot of trips to the emergency room,  and my ex-husband’s Momma ALWAYS brought ice cream after an accident.  (I seriously think they got hurt on purpose so they could have ice cream.)

While I was driving to the Nursing Student’s, the Fisher Dude was driving home for his lunch break and cut in front of me without even realizing it was me.  We both pulled into the driveway at the same time, and he didn’t even see me until I walked into him.  He was upset about lil Cam-Man.

We both walked in and Brayden boy was excited to see me, Cam-Man saw me and then started crying because he couldn’t move.    He was propped up on his Momma and Daddy’s bed, and they were watching PBS kids.  I climbed up onto the bed, and Cam-Man wiggled so he was almost on top of me, and I’ll be jiggered, but that darn kid put his hand on my chest and his head in the crook of my neck and just laid there.

I felt so bad, every time he would move, he cried.  His blankey was held very tightly with one hand and his thumb in his mouth with the other.  I thought I had died 1000 deaths whenever one of my kids was hurt, but this is a new kind of hurt.

Cam-Man had an appointment to get his cast on, and I helped the Nursing Student who was 10,000 types of frazzled, I told her I have been in her shoes, and this too shall pass.

I changed Cam-Mans diaper, and he cried.  I got him dressed and I cried.  The Nursing Student finished dressing him and then I held him in my arms, and then loaded up his brother in the car for the appointment to get the cast.

Cam-Man is sporting a bright Green cast on his leg, which thankfully is to be removed in about a month.

 

 

The Electrician did call me to let me know he had gotten my message about the Chiropractic appointment, and I had to break the news to him about his lil’ buddy.  The Electrician admitted he cried.  After his appointment, the Electrician stopped in to see how Cam-Man was doing, and he was sleeping peacefully.

 

His belly was full with a Happy Meal from McDonald’s (believe me he sure did deserve that one) and he was just plum worn out.  At least with the cast he was free of some of the pain.    The Electrician gave him a kiss.

 

Our evening has been a little subdued.  We are both kind of worn out, and realize just how much that little dude means to us, and we both hate to see him in any type of pain or suffering.

I’m sure this won’t be the last time lil’ dude ends up in the emergency room, but WOW, we sure did not expect it at age 2.

 

One response

Leave a Reply

