Got my Catchers Mitt ready…

 

I’ve come to a realisation, (thanks to a couple of fellow bloggers who have helped me today).   I’ll get into this later.

First off, I woke up with that sinus gungus fungus alamungus stuff this morning.  Yup, one side of my face was swollen, no known reason other than the fact, my face felt like it.

I headed on down to the road to the Farmer’s and lo and behold, it was raining (this could explain my face explosion).   I got to the Farmer’s and grabbed a cup of coffee, and went in and sat with the Farmer for a bit.  We worked out our game plan for today, did some negotiating ( we both like to do that hehehe).

With our plan set, I went out to make breakfast, and then after the Farmer and I ate, I went in and got Momma up.  WOW, she was all in good humor today, and popped right up.    After giving her a bath and then asking her if she was ready to get up, she replied with “Daylights burning, get me up”.  Uhm, ok who are YOU and what did you do with MY Momma?

The Farmer and I got her up and put her on the porta potty, and she told us she was ready to get up.  So…we got her up and put her back down quickly.  You can read between the lines here.

I’m gonna sidetrack here, simply because for those of you that read my blog and know nothing about Parkinson’s, one of the “sidekicks” from this Disease is as progression goes there is this thing called Constipation.  There are several ways to treat it, and the Farmer and I have tried several different ways.  The fact that Momma does not eat “real” food and gets her food through a g-tube and gets something called “jevity” well…sometimes she gets a little backed up (forgive me the Electrician is telling me this is gross, but like I told him, this is a fact of our lives).    Anyway, back to the point, we’re trying a “new” cure and man…uhm…well lets just say Momma has had a weeks worth of $hit  in 2 days, and it’s still coming.  No wonder she is more cheerful and chatty lately, if I was full of $hit I’d be grumpy too.

Ok, back to the matter at hand,  when Momma was finally done and all cleaned up, we switched things up and she got into the wheelchair, after visiting parts of the house she hasn’t seen for a while, we took her into the kitchen.  You see, we had decided today was going to be Momma’s Spa day.    Usually, Joyce and I wash Momma’s hair on Wednesday’s, well, this past one was not a good day, so we didn’t do it.

The Farmer had been prepping Momma for her spa day and she seemed like she was up for it.  We got her into the kitchen and we got her to the sink and let her look out the back window, and then, as momma put it, The Farmer tried to drown her, notice I said the Farmer, because she loves me and knew that head massage she got was all me, but the water that went into her ears and down her shirt was all him.  Hey, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it ok?

After her hair was washed, we got her into her chair and then it was  pedicure time.  After soaking her feet in epsom salts for a bit, and then an exfoliating scrub, I trimmed her toe nails and used a sander (seriously no kidding) on her nails.  Parkinson‘s patients have problems with their feet.   After the whole process I massaged lotion in them and they were smooth.  After that it was her fingernails (which the Farmer stated were kinda sharp).  After her manicure and massage, Momma was a happy camper.  Me?  I’ve never been to pedicure, or nail school, but I have this one down pat.  Momma was a very happy girl and I’m serious when I say, she was smiling like a Cheshire cat.

With everything done, I went on down the road and did my errands.  I did go to the Grocery Store again today, even after my disaster of over-spending last week, I can say with a BIG grin, I was UNDER budget this week.

I even cooked dinner tonite, and it was good.  Although, to anyone reading my blog,  CAN YOU PLEASE TELL ME HOW TO MAKE MILK GRAVY?  Because mine seriously SUCKED.  I can make beef gravy, chicken broth gravy, but milk gravy, nope.

I had my Catchers Mitt ready today for any curve balls that would be thrown my way.  But ya know what?  Genie speaks told me that maybe if I didn’t try so hard, it would come to me, guess what?  I think she was right.

Today, I did everything on my list, and I wasn’t stressed about doing it, I just did it, and figured, It is what It is.  And guess what?  It all flowed, I’m not stressed, or snarky.

I also got some really good advice from my friend Karen H.  who told me to just relax and enjoy my moments.  Thanks Karen, I did and it was great.

Today, was a good day for me.  If I quit looking for balance, it seems to come to me.

 

8 responses

  1. milk gravy is made the same way as all others. a little bit of meat and drippings. add flour to make a smooth paste, then add milk, a little bit at a time, so it remains smooth and getting less pasty each time, until you have added enough milk to your thickness. milk has to be added much more slowly because it scalds and boils and separates.
    i have to ask what you did for mom that helped her go potty. we are having huge issues here at home, huge issues, and i used a product milk of magnesia this morning and it helped some, but this is every day now and i am not sure if MOM, product, is good for every day usage. I am talking about all day plungings in the stool, it is so bad. sorry to be so definitive, but wanted u to know it is a BIG

  2. milk gravy is made the same way as all others. a little bit of meat and drippings. add flour to make a smooth paste, then add milk, a little bit at a time, so it remains smooth and getting less pasty each time, until you have added enough milk to your thickness. milk has to be added much more slowly because it scalds and boils and separates.
    i have to ask what you did for mom that helped her go potty. we are having huge issues here at home, huge issues, and i used a product milk of magnesia this morning and it helped some, but this is every day now and i am not sure if MOM, product, is good for every day usage. I am talking about all day plungings in the stool, it is so bad. sorry to be so definitive, but wanted u to know it is a BIG deal, no pun intended. LOL

    1. aha, it’s the seperating part that has me fudged everytime….

      1. just make sure to add a little milk at a time, it needs to get used to the heat slowly. u will do fine. i hope u can also help me with the remedy for the restroom problem

      2. I will e-mail you the remedy

  3. It was the constipation and results of treatment for it that actually triggered our nursing home decision so I know exactly what you mean. It is hard to deal with a bed full of shit no matter how much you love the person and, as my husband is so heavy, it just became almost impossible for me to physically get him out of the bed and into the shower etc. etc.

    1. I can so relate to this one…trust me…the worst problem is the frickin smell….ERMGAWD….

      1. Yes – not for the faint-hearted!

Leave a Reply

