Playing with Chili’s and the “look”

Today dawned nice and sunny and with the promise the Electrician and I could sleep in.  Unfortunately, Ms. Baby didn’t get the memo on that one and jumped onto the bed at 7 a.m. demanding for both of us to get up.  So, I guess we both got to sleep in per se, the Electrician usually gets up at 4 am and me at 6am.

After drinking some coffee, and chatting for a bit, the Electrician went outside to “play” in the yard.  Okay, maybe not play, he ran the lawn mower to knock down the weeds in our yard and the neighbors.

After starting some laundry, then stripping the bed, I looked on the Internet for some ideas for dinner involving Chicken.  I recently took stock of my 2 1/2 freezers and found out, I must like chicken because that is what I have the most of in the freezers.  When the Electrician asked me what was for dinner, and I replied chicken, he kind of groaned.  After looking for a bit, I fell back on one of the Electrician’s favorites.

I decided I would make Green Chili Chicken Enchilada’s, with the last remaining bag of green chili from last year in my freezer.  However, with August just around the corner, and my new shipment arriving about the second week of August, I can handle using up the last bag.

I went up into the kitchen and set up my pot to boil my chicken, I threw in some herbs, and the chicken, and uhm…a habanero pepper(AKA scotch bonnet), that I pricked with a knife.  I let that boil away on the stove and got busy making Chocolate Chip cookies for the Electrician’s lunch this week.

The Electrician came in and scooped up some cookie dough, and then we took all of my “plants” (of the plastic variety) outside for a hosing off.  It’s a known fact I can kill a cactus at 20 paces, thus the need for the plastic variety.  Although, I do have 4 plants that I have managed to keep alive for going on 3 years now, but I’m not sure so much if it’s me that’s keeping them alive or the fact that the Electrician  also takes care of them.

By now, my house is smelling yummy with the spices and chicken, so I turned the pot off and let it sit for 30 minutes, then took the chicken out to de-bone it.    I strained out the chicken broth, and thought to myself, “hmmm, maybe I should taste it.”  So, I sucked down a spoonful and coughed.  Who knew a little pepper could make it THAT hot.

I chopped up my last bag of green chili after peeling it and seeding it, added a little garlic to hit and then tasted it.  WOW, either letting it sit in my freezer since last September,made it hotter, or it was a really hot batch of New Mexico Hatch green chili.

So now, I’m thinking that while I enjoy the spicy  HOT food, I really don’t want to kill the Electrician.  So, I made this batch of enchilada’s a little different. Normally, I do not use Sour cream OR philadelphia cream cheese, but in this case I did.  (It mellows out the spiciness.)  After mixing my filling, I started rolling, and rolling, and rolling.  2 BIG casserole pans later, it dawned on me, why I don’t make enchilada’s for just me and the Electrician.  I’m used to making them for the “family” (uhm, that would be 7 who has now turned into 10 + 2 lil one’s)  So then I decided I would freeze one batch, problem solved.

I baked one pan, and told the Electrician it was time to eat, and asked him if he wanted any salad with the enchilada’s, to which he replied “nah, this is good.”  Two bites into it and I started to sweat, and looked at the Electrician underneath my eyelids, he had turned a strange shade of red, coughed, and then stated “HOLY MOTHER OF GOD, JOANNE, THESE ARE HOT”.  To which I replied  “Uhm, they just came out of the oven about 10 minutes ago”.  And that is when folks, I got the “look”.

Well, I finished mine (although I did slather some Ranch dressing and lettuce on mine), and he ate half of his and said he would get the rest later.    Fast forward (because that was about 3 hours ago), he has just finished the remainder of his plate, and stated that they tasted good the “spice” had settled down, and it was actually quite tasty.  PHEW, that made me feel better, but folks I’ll share with you the facts about green chili,   after cooking it, the longer it sits, and the more you reheat it, the hotter it gets.

I’m gonna have to figure out a way to re-invent this dinner into leftovers.  Suggestions are welcomed.

2 responses

  1. i was so into the story until the last part, and then started cracking up with laughter. i can just see the two of you turning red faced and yet saying nothing……….lol, i also, use sour cream to tone down my menu when it gets a little HOT in the kitchen!!!

  2. I can just picture this too!

Leave a Reply

