Smiling at a Stranger…..

I had an experience yesterday, that has kind of stuck with me.  I’ve mulled it over in my mind for a bit, and I think I’m ready to let it out.

For those of you that follow my blog, y’all know I’m not allowed in a grocery store (problem of seriously over spending, I think I am food hoarder).  But for the past couple of weeks, I’ve been doing the Grocery Shopping.  Yesterday, I made a stop at the local Wal-Mart, and I was only there to buy lunchmeat for the Electrician’s lunches and a couple of other things, while I was walking around and looking at things (which I usually do, I have to look at EVERYTHING).  I smiled at people, I was amazed by the amount of people who looked at me like I was crazy.

When I finally found my way to the deli area and was looking at what sandwich meat I wanted to purchase, there was a woman who was talking on her cell phone,  the lady who was waiting on her, was getting a little stressed, because she saw she had a line forming.  Everytime she would hand the cellphone lady an item, the woman would ask for something else, but when the deli lady asked her if the slice was ok, she would ignore her and keep talking on the cellphone.   When the deli lady had handed her yet another bag of stuff, the cellphone lady kept talking.  So, the deli lady went to wait on another person, when the cellphone lady told her she wanted one more thing.  By now, there were about 6 people waiting at the deli, and this poor deli lady was by herself and very stressed out.  The cellphone lady finished her conversation and ended her call and then looked around at all of us just standing there.

The deli lady went to wait on some other people and I was still standing there looking at the meat, but in my mind, I was seriously wondering when did it become ok to be rude, to other people, for the sake of a phone call.

When the deli lady came to wait on me she was breathless, and a little stressed, so I gave her a big smile, and looked at her and stated “Little busy huh?”.  She stopped and looked at me and gave me a really big smile, as if to say thank you. I asked for the meat I wanted, and after she had given me my last order, I looked at her and smiled, and said “Thank you so much, you try to have a good day ok?”.  She looked at me and said “Thank YOU, for your patience and understanding, and also for that smile, that made my day.”

So, I guess, my advice is to smile at a Stranger, you never know what they are dealing with, and it may just make someone else’s day.

4 responses

  1. For some reason this brought tears to my eyes.

  2. what an awesome lady you are!!!

  3. […] Smiling at a Stranger….. « camsgranny […]

  4. I can identify with this. I once lived for three weeks on cans of Vienna sausage and chocolate chip cookies. After that I made sure my cupboards were stocked and I always have too much toilet paper 🙂 It takes so little time to offer a smile, or show a moment of kindess. Nice post from a nice lady.

Leave a Reply

