Me versus the Neti Pot, and quotes for today…

 

Have you ever had a day, when things go so right you are amazed?  Yea, me neither.  While I realize that I am in some kinda funk,  or whatever, I’ve got to find a way out of it.

I will let y’all in on a little story.  Since I usually get sinus infections, ALL the time, and this last one went up into my eye and well…let’s just say it was pretty ugly.

I was advised by several people (including my Mother-out-law), and a Doctor, to invest in something called a Neti-pot.    It apparently is  little tea-pot I shove up my nose and flush out all the bad stuff.  You can pick them up at your local drug store, and yes, Wal-Mart does carry them with Saline solution you are supposed to use.

After researching on-line on how to use them I found this at About.com

A neti pot is a small ceramic or plastic pitcher. It has two openings, one at the top and another in the spout. It is filled with salt water to cleanse your nasal passages. A sinus wash is recommended as part of your daily personal hygiene regimen. Cleansing your sinuses in this manner relieves symptoms associated with colds, flu, sinus infections, nasal dryness, allergies, and other sinus irritations. It also helps reduce swelling of the nasal membranes.

Ok, sounds easy enough huh?  I actually saw it being “tested” on The Rachael Ray Talk Show”  just last week.  Although, they did suggest using it in the shower.

Ok, I’ve had a semi ok day, although I guess it’s not a good sign, when the Farmer get’s a new book in the mail, and he reads me a quote before I am leaving his house.

“When you are at the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on”   by FDR (Roosevelt).

I believe it kind of resonated with both of us.  When I left his house, I went to the Nursing student‘s to drop some stuff off, and the Fisher dude was outside.  He and I chatted, and then I went inside, but the Nursing student was taking a nap, along with Cam-Man.  So, I went back outside and talked to the Fisher dude for a bit.    I told the quote to the Fisher dude, and I guess he kind of liked it.

By the time I had gotten home, he had posted it on his Facebook page, although he had altered it.  When I saw it, I started laughing, and then proceeded to ask him, if he knew where the quote came from.  He replied with, “Your Dad huh?”  After giggling for a few minutes, I told him,  who actually quoted it.

But I digress.  When I went into take my shower this evening, I decided to give this thing a try.  I thought I had followed all the instructions clearly.

Obviously this thing is NOT made for ME, because I proceeded to think I was drowning, coughing, and just utterly not enjoying the experience.  Maybe I wasn’t doing it right.  So, I tried it again, all the while in my head, I’m singing “I’m a little teapot, short and stout, here is my handle, here is my spout, when you tip me over”,  I GAG, COUGH, and then there is a flood of stuff that there is no description for.

Hey, maybe I do have the hang of this thing, let’s try it again.  Nope, I dropped that sucker and started flapping around because I thought I was drowning.

Meanwhile, the Electrician is getting worried about the noise coming out of the bathroom, and comes in to check on me.   Do you know how hard it is to recover from the drowning experience and look normal when someone shoves the shower curtain aside and peers their face in and asks “Are you ok?”.  “Yea, it’s just hot in here”.  He looked at me and then just shook his head and left.

THAT was my experience with the Neti pot, I may or may not get the hang of it, but next time I use it, I think I will pull the radio in the bathroom to cover the noise.

 

 

3 responses

  1. i laughed the whole way through. Dr. Oz claims they work wonders, but when i think of using one myself i think i would also drown from salt water, so I don’t buy one. i take allergy pills and use a product called Ayr. It is a natural salt water spray from the pharmacy. It works good and I don’t drown in my own snot and salt waters. i wish i could have been a fly on the wall to watch u doing this. i am still laughing as i type these words…………….sorry, it must have been a tad scary…………can’t help myself, maybe i am morbid……..lol

  2. Oh I can’t stop laughing albeit at your expense!!!

  3. I hope you feel better. My youngest child had sinus infections all the time resulting in too many antibiotics for her. The doctor researched and advised us to use saline solution nose spray or drops (this was almost 20 years ago). It worked like a charm and she broke the cycle. I wish the same good luck for you. Keep trying!

Leave a Reply

