Playing Hooky….

Today, I was full of plans, I had a list a mile long of stuff I needed to get done.  I’ve told y’all I was in a funk lately.

I went to the Farmer’s and got all my stuff done there.  I did all the cleaning, and made the Farmer some apple crisp muffins (for the weekend),  and prepped a rack of ribs for him to cook for his dinner.  The Nursing student arrived and helped me to get Momma up and bathed, dressed and all that other stuff.   The Farmer was playing with Cam-man.   When Momma was settled into her chair, the Nursing Student, Cam-Man and I all left to go out to lunch.

We had a great time, and Cam-man was hilarious.   We wrapped things up and I decided to take Cam-Man for the afternoon.  After leaving the restaurant, Cam-man and I traveled to McDonald’s, because the Farmer wanted a burger for lunch.    After delivering his lunch, Cam-Man helped me finish up a couple of things and then him and I hit the road.

Now, I had a list of things I was supposed to do, but only 2 things that I absolutely HAD to do today.   So, I took Cam-Man with me on those 2 errands, and he laughed and was happy, because he got a sucker at both places we stopped at.

When we arrived at my house, and he got out of the car, he did the Cam-man swag up to the door, waited while I unlocked it, pushed it open and then proceeded to go into every room shouting at the top of his lungs “PAWPAW”.  After I had explained, that Pawpaw was at work and would be home he settled down.

We laid down on the couch for 1/2 an hour for some quiet time, because little dude had not had a nap.  We watched t.v. and stayed quiet, and then it was on.  We got up and made Pawpaw his lunch for tomorrow, with Cam-Man bagging all the stuff.

We came downstairs and then we colored some pictures for Pawpaw.   When the phone rang (the Electrician always calls me when he is leaving, simply for the fact, it’s always at different times) Cam-Man picked up the phone and said “Hello”, The Electrician who had no idea Cam-man was at the house, thought he had called the wrong number.   After getting it all figured out, Pawpaw told Cam-Man he would be there in about 20 minutes, and Cam-man kissed the phone and said bye.

We were playing pretty hard, when Pawpaw snuck up on us, and Cam-Man ran up the stairs for that big bear hug.  The Electrician has a routine he follows every Friday night, and I told him, we were playing hooky today.  The world is round, and we will get there, so let’s cherish these moments.

We all 3 played, and then Cam-Man and the Electrician did “their” thing, and went for a walk around the pond.  Cam-Man on Pawpaws shoulders and waving and yelling “Bye” to me as they took off.

The Nursing student came to pick up Cam-Man, and then I served the Electrician leftover spaghetti, (I’m still so full, I didn’t have any).

We got back into our normal evening routine a little later than usual, but it was well worth it.

That list of things to get done, I still have tomorrow, and it will get done, but I had so much fun today, just letting go of EVERYTHING.  I am truly blessed.

I am also here to tell you, the conversations between little dude and me today were so heart warming, the things that come out of a 2 year olds mouth are priceless.  Plus, I have so much fun teaching him things.   But the best prize, is when he puts those arms around you and holds on, oh so tight, and then pats your back and kisses you.

I feel relaxed and refreshed, although tired, because little dude sure has A LOT of energy.

5 responses

  1. What a lovely day you had! Doesn’t it help your mood and your spirits to be around the little guy? There’s nothing like a little one to tweek your perspective and induce a belly laugh or two.

    1. You are so right, instead of being worried, or otherwise, it’s just pure fun, and totally takes any kind of funk I have away.

  2. i love those years, and hate it when they grow up and get too independent for us grandparents, although they still love us their innocents is gone……..

    1. I am not looking forward to that part, but I am really enjoying the “building years”

      1. take lots of photos…..

Leave a Reply

