Camsgranny is making Green chili Stew….

 

The cast of characters… This would be Green chili, a pork sirloin roast (although, pork chops, pork roast or any type of pork works),  A couple of potatoes, onion, Chicken broth, frozen corn mine was from the freezer from some of the corn the Farmer picked and I froze.  diced tomato’s, (I didn’t have any canned, so I used some from my freezer from my garden)  a couple of cloves of garlic, then some oregano, onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, and ground coriander, salt and pepper, I’m not quite sure how the Tony Chatere’s ended up in the photo other than, this spice is usually on my counter most of the time.

First, I roasted the green chili…and peeled it and chopped it…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also cut the potato’s and onions then  peeled the tomato’s.  I did not have canned, so I used the one’s in my freezer than I had harvested out of my garden,  I spiced them up too.  I used Salt and pepper, oregano, cumin, garlic powder and onion powder…

 

Then, I threw the potato’s, onions and garlic into a hot pan that had olive oil heating up.  I got a semi crust on the potato’s and the onions had softened, then I threw in the cubed pork.  I let it get all white, and let the moisture cook out of it for a bit.  Then I threw in the flavored tomatoes, and the green chili and some more spices,  I usually spice things up a couple of times.  When it was all together, I threw in about a palmful of oregano, salt, pepper, cumin, ground coriander, ground garlic, ground onion powder,  the frozen corn, the green chili, and covered it in chicken broth…then I just let it simmer for about an hour…

 

 

 

About this time my camera dies, and I had to wait to take the after picture…  This is what the stew looked like when I was done(actually this is what was left after the Electrician and I had dived into it.)  The Electrician eats his different from me.  He gets a tortilla and lines it up with cheese and then makes a burrito.  Me?  I warm a tortilla and slather it in butter and then use my tortilla as a spoon.  I am here to tell you though, this is heaven in a bowl.

 

Folks, I lived for 13 years in New Mexico, I learned a lot of different cooking skills.  I learned a lot about different flavors.  Chili is one that I embraced.    There is mild chili, and then there is medium hot chili, and then there is in your face chili…

I guess for me, when times were lean, and we ate beans and chili and tortillas for weeks on end,  the flavor was there.

It’s amazing sometimes what a food can make you remember, Point in fact….When the Electrician ate his stew tonite, he smiled at me, and said “I must be used to it, but I swear, the first time you fed this to me, I thought I was going to die, but now, I actually enjoy the flavor, even though my nose is running, BUT, if my butt burns tomorrow, I’m going to get you”.

Hehehe…some things never change huh?

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. i know there are many things i don’t know about you and one is that u lived in new mexico. why don’t u move closer to me? lol. what is ground coriander, and what does it go in?

    1. ground coriander is the dried version of cilantro, you can use it in anything, but alot of people use it in curry. It has a lemony, sage, caraway taste.

  2. I can’t wait to try this!!!

Leave a Reply

