Monday, Monday…oops…

How come everyone seems to dislike Monday’s?  I usually don’t, but my Monday has been full of little mishaps along the way.

When I left my house this morning, I forgot the baby monitor for Momma.  So, I turned around and came back to my house and picked it up.

I tried to make waffles, and had a semi-explosion of Milk of Magnesia all over the place.  Let me back track here for a minute.

When I got to the Farmer’s and hooked up the baby monitor, and then talked to the Farmer for a bit, I was actually waiting for the waffle iron to warm up, as I had already made the waffle batter.

We decided to go ahead and give Momma some Milk of Magnesia today, due to lack of..well, you figure it out.   Constipation is a REAL problem with Parkinson’s patient’s.  We’ve relied on Milk of Magnesia and Miralax.

I went into the kitchen and checked the waffle iron, and it wasn’t ready yet.  So, I went ahead and made up Momma’s med’s.  Usually we put the MoM into her medication that we mix with Pepsi (to dissolve it).

When I grabbed the bottle of MoM (you would think that the lid would be on),  (Uhm THANKS DAD) I started to shake it when WHAMMO.  That stuff went everywhere with the cap sailing across the room.

I am now covered in Milk of Magnesia, the floor is covered, the waffle iron is covered, and now has the green light lit up (go figure).  The cabinets are covered as well.  I’m yelling, the cat is licking the floor, and I’m thinking NOOOOOOOOOOO.

I get everything cleaned up, all the while shooing the kitty’s out of the room, and praying none of that stuff went into the waffle batter.

After breakfast, and a re-cleaning of everything, including mopping the floor twice, simply for the fact, on the first mopping, I tracked all over the place, and no one can mistake MY foot print for  the Farmer’s.

I decided to give up and run to Wal-Mart.  I may now be banned from the store, but I’m not sure.  The Farmer had asked me to pick up some milk for him, and some more floor cleaner.  I had a couple of things to get as well.

Walking down the kitty litter aisle, and REALLY, why would you put a 10 pound jug of kitty litter on the top shelf?   I tried to get one down and oops, “clean up on Aisle 5”.  Yea, it fell and exploded in a cloud of kitty litter everywhere.  I grabbed another one and practically ran onto the next aisle.

“Clean up in aisle 11”, was the next thing heard.  Yea, I dropped the milk, actually, I did not drop it, when I went to pull one out, 2 came out, simply for the fact they were shoved in there so tight.   OOPS.

I won’t even tell you what happened in the Diet Coke aisle.  Except, Thank you to the 6 foot woman who handed me 3 liters of Diet Coke.  Whew…. Being short really sucks sometimes, and the store employee’s tend to frown when you climb like a monkey to get something off the top shelf.

I think everyone in Wal-Mart breathed a sigh of relief when I left.  But as I was walking out the door, they had a bin that said to put your plastic bags in it for re-cycling.  So..uhm…  I grabbed a couple of bags full.  Hey, I am recycling them.  We use them as liners for Momma’s porta potty.

After I finally got home to my house,  and felt in my “safe zone”.  I put everything away, and then remembered I was supposed to go to the post office.  OOPS.  I figure I can do that first thing in the morning.

I don’t know about y’all, but once I get home, and am home, I’m not going anywhere else.Tonite’s dinner was green chili cheeseburgers smothered in mushrooms and bacon with provolone cheese melted over top. I also went all out and made home-made french fries.  (The best kind are twice fried, fresh tater’s and not those frozen one’s).

I had taken an early shower and was just getting supper done, when my phone rang.  “Uhm, Joanne, Tracy isn’t coming tonite, someone else is that has never been here before, can you come put Annie to bed?”

Well, hells bells.   I got into the Rav4 and went on over there in my p.j.’s.  First off, Good help is hard to find, second off (and this is the important part) Momma does not like strangers, who do not know her routine.

As soon as I got there, we got down to business.  I did all the normal things Momma is used to, and then I bounced her butt into the bed, got a hug and a kiss, and a “Thank you, I love you Joanne”.  Aww….those words made my heart feel a lot better, and never mind the other stuff.

Sometimes, even when we really don’t want to leave our house, we need to, because there might come a day, when I don’t get a phone call to put Momma to bed, because she won’t be here.

So, in a nutshell, it’s been a Monday.  But I’ll take it and smile at the memories.  Also, for those of you wondering, Yes, the MoM did get into the waffle batter, both the Farmer and I and the kitties had the same type of afternoon in the bathroom.

5 responses

  1. oh my gosh! MOM all over everywhere. I have done that but with pop! i was not planning on going anywhere today, but when i was out two days ago, i saw a natural kitty litter on sale so thought i would give her a taste of natural earth, but the persnickety kitten didn’t like it at all. She would run to it, sniff, look, flick her tail at me and whine. I was forced to go get out an get her what she is used to, good smelling powdery sand kitty litter. i had to come home and throw away all the money i spent on the natural litter. after wards, she has played in her new sand litter twice and also has done her duty. she was almost in prancing mode, waiting and crossing her legs so she would not pee on the floor, talk about stubborn!!! wow……………glad you had a good day Jo!

    1. I’ve tried that natural stuff…nope, my cat is well…spoilled rotten, she has 2 litter boxes, because she won’t do both of her business in the same box. I think she takes after the Electrician and NOT me…:)

      1. haha that is funny!!!! i emailed u!

  2. I am laughing hysterically at your expense – sorry but this is one of the funniest posts I’ve ever read!

  3. Wow! Now THAT is a Monday! My condolences on all of the messes that were made. Sounds like you had a case of the “Dropsies”. That’s what my wife and I call the kind of days where it seems everything we touch gets dropped or falls. I see that you aren’t immune from the Dropsies. Fortnately, they rarely last longer than a day at a time!

    Russ

Leave a Reply

