I Love Sunday’s…

 

I really love Sunday’s.  It is the one day of the week, that I actually sleep in.  Although, Ms. Baby still comes in at about 6:45-7:00 am, meowing her head off trying to get someone up to a.) feed her, b.) give her treats, and c.) let her outside.  Today, the Electrician got up with her.  I’ve had a couple of seriously late nights, and while I could handle it  when I was younger, I can’t handle it now.  (Wow, I have just affirmed, I am older, UGH)

But back to why I love Sunday’s.  Sunday’s I have no agenda, I can do whatever I want, when I want.  It is basically a lazy day in my house.  I don’t have to put on clothes, and can stay in my p.j.’s all day long.  I don’t have to go anywhere.

Today, I spent most of the day in my kitchen.  I made some blueberry muffins, regular size and mini size.  Some Chocolate chip/butterscotch cookies, for the Electrician’s lunch all week.  Then the “piece de resistance”.

Let me explain.  The Electrician and I have an agreement on Sunday’s.  I will get everything ready for the grill, and he will grill it, and then we eat.  Today, I prepped some Rib-eye Steaks, (which may or may not have thrown me over budget at the Grocery store yesterday, although it could have been the rack of ribs, or the whole salmon, but who knows, I was over-budget yesterday, uhm…oops) I prepped some foil packets.  One of which was mushrooms with butter and some spices, the other was a foil packet of Brussel sprouts with spices, also a couple of baked potato‘s wrapped in foil after being nuked for a couple of minutes, and then rubbed with olive oil and encrusted with salt.

Dinner was good, (burp) (uhm, sorry), then the Electrician got to take his nap, and I goofed off watching a movie “Julie and Julia“.  Which I truly enjoyed, being a “foodie” type of girl.  It was fun entertainment, and I recommend it.

Oh, and I also own the book, that the movie was written about. Mastering the Art of French Cooking.  (well, actually, I stole it from the Farmer, Hi Dad!).

I have cooked quite a few things from the book, with my favorite being  “Beef Bourguignon”  and I have probably misspelled it but, it’s Beef in Burgundy wine.  It is one of the Farmer and Momma‘s favorites.

Anyhow, My Sunday would not be complete without talking to my “outlaws” which we do every Sunday evening.  Usually, we play, who can call who first.  The past 2 Sunday’s the Electrician and I have lost, and the “outlaws” call us first.

I am truly lucky in the fact that I really enjoy my “outlaws”.  They are my “second set” of parents that I really love.    Of course, my Father-outlaw, always gives me a hard time, and I’m used to it.  I hope I give as much as I get, and we both chuckle.   My Mother-outlaw, I love, she is so supportive of me taking care of Momma.  You see, she did the same thing with her Momma.    My M-O-L has given me a lot of advice and good tips, and just over-all support.

I guess, I really love Sunday’s simply for the fact, I can relax, goof off, and just be , well, lazy.

I also feel so blessed.  Just by the fact, the people in my life love me, and take care of me, and also, I just feel really loved.

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. i am so glad you have this day of rest. sundays you can find me cleaning. i get it all cleaned so i can just straighten up until the next week……………you have a nice family, and i get sort of jealous, because i have no family. my sundays are quiet while you have joy, but life is what life is

  2. Your food talk always makes my mouth water!

Leave a Reply

