The Den…and then some….

While I would like to post one of the best post’s I’ve ever written, it is not going to happen tonite.

I am kind of tired,  although I do not know why.  (pfft…I know why.)  The Farmer had to go “shopping” today, the usual once a month trip to Sam’s and then Meijer‘s in a couple of towns over from us, so it was pretty much a 4 hour shopping trip for him.

Me, you ask?  Well, after getting Momma changed and into clean bed stuff and bed pads, I asked her if she wanted to get up and got a very firm “No”, so I commenced on my cleaning bug.  I won’t bore you with the details, but let’s just say 4 hours later, things had been re-arranged, boxes had been burned, floors, and bathrooms had been disinfected, and vacuuming and dusting  had been done.

I even got adventurous and cleaned the Farmer’s room for him.  Now, I’m not here to bust him out, but my-oh-my have things changed from when I was a teenager.  I seriously remember being told “CLEAN YOUR ROOM!!!!!”.    So, his bedroom is now cleaned and vacuumed, and you can actually sit on his chair in his reading space. Clothes, have actually found their way into the dresser and hung up.   Your Welcome Dad!

There is one room though, that has remained taboo, all throughout my life.  The Den.   The Farmer has always had one “room” he always called his own, no matter where we lived.  It is the Den.  You are allowed to enter, and to sit and chat, but touch ANYTHING, and you are in serious trouble.   I actually told the Farmer this past week, when he was on “his” cleaning spree.  (Yes, he actually cleaned HIS DEN), what the 4377, had gotten into him (that’s code for hell on a calculator, I’m not supposed to cuss around him.)  He smiled at me and actually let me sweep the floor.

I did all the laundry and that’s when the little mishap happened.  I washed the Farmer’s jeans and shirt’s, and momma’s bed sheets and stuff, but somewhere in there, something exploded in the dryer.  When I went to take out the whites from the dryer, it looked like a box of Kleenex had exploded, and well….let’s just say, I ended up vacuuming the basement.  That stuff went everywhere, and every little piece of whatever I pulled out of the dryer, sent another “snow” shower everywhere.  Trust me folks, I will be looking closer at what I throw in there from now on.

By now, the Farmer had arrived home, and after helping him unload the truck, and putting everything away, I gave him the bad news.  Momma was not having a good day.  Someday’s when we give her the Parkinson’s meds, they help tremendously.  Other days, not so much.  Today was one of those days.  She was happy one moment, and the next gripped by Parks.  Her mind was playing tricks on her and she was terrified at one point.  It took everything in me to calm her down.

We finally got her roused, and although she did not want to leave her bed, we made her.   When we finally made it out into the front room, Momma had a few problems backing up into her chair.  That’s the only way she can sit, is to back up.  The Farmer and I  gave her some time, told her to breath and not get worked up and told her to relax, finally, she made it.

It hurts my feelings, I guess, at how apologetic she is.  She kept telling me she was sorry, and had tears on her face.  All’s I can do is tell her not to worry, and that it’s ok.  You see, she feels bad when she can’t do what she WANTS to do, because her limbs won’t allow it.  Then she gets upset because she thinks she is letting us down.  But what we keep trying to tell her, she isn’t letting anyone down, especially not us.  We will stand with her all day if that’s what she needs.

This Parkinson’s thing, it’s difficult.  For the person that has it, to the people who care for the person that has it.  It really is a No-Win situation.  The only thing that I do know, the Farmer and I are trying our hardest, to make it better for Momma.

While Parkinson’s can rob a person of about everything, they can’t take a person’s heart away.  And folks, my Momma has a really big heart.  It may get confused, but one thing she always does,  is to remind the Farmer and I everyday, just how much she loves us, and appreciates all we do.

I guess that’s the WIN, in a No-win situation.  I’ll take it too.

 

2 responses

  1. I was just about to email you to see how you were – now I see. My heart breaks.
    On a more positive note: can you come over and help me clean this house – hehe!

  2. this is so touching, the part where she lets u know she loves you each day. I have never heard Al say he loves me, let alone likes me, lol. i have said it before, mama is a lucky woman, and i think she knows it too. the fluff in the dryer??? let’s hope it was a box of kleenex, lolol

Leave a Reply

