Road Trip to a Wedding….Part One…..

 

Whew, I made it.  Have you ever gone on a road trip and had almost everything go wrong?

Let me back up and state my last post was made in a haze of packing up the car, making sure our “wedding clothes” were hung up, the map in the front seat, car gassed up and ready to go.  Cold medicine in hand and down throat.

While I was not driving, I was the appointed navigator.  Might I just slide in a little suggestion here?  Do NOT let person’s who indulge in cold medicine be the designated navigator.  It CAN and will lead to some issues.

Now, mind you we have only traveled this journey once before, and that was in April.    It is normally, give or take 30 minutes, a 4 hour trip.  Without going into detail, (other than to state in my defense, I was totally turned around in my directions) 7 1/2 hours, 1 full tank of gas and working on the next one, being told, if I didn’t find the way soon, I was going to be exiting the vehicle and I could walk the rest of the way, later, we finally arrived at the hotel.    We checked in and literally threw our stuff in the room, got more directions from the desk clerk, because we were already uhm  about 1/2 an hour late for the Rehearsal dinner.

Mind you the navigator has had ANOTHER round of cold medicine, and this time, got the day time and the night-time one’s mixed up.  Yep, I took the “yea, it’s gonna knock you out SOON ones”.

So, needless to say, we got lost AGAIN.  What is normally a 17 minute trip to the place where the Wedding was going to happen, it was more like 45 minutes for us, and there was a bunch of cussing going on.  Oh and yes, I am still married.

After finally arriving, and having all of the kids laugh unrestrained at the fact the “old one’s” got lost, and  they left AFTER we did and arrived before we did.  We wrapped things up, and yes went back to the hotel.  This time following other’s who knew the way.  By now, my head was starting to droop.

Somehow, even though I had been in a car all day and had medicated myself, I felt worse.  I could not stop coughing, and had a fever, and knew there was no way I was going to be able to keep my plans for the next morning.

You see, I had a little window of opportunity, to drive about 20 miles (although by now, being seriously directionally challenged, I questioned my ability) to meet a fellow blogger, whom I have gotten quite close to.  It broke my heart to make that phone call, and tell her I couldn’t do it.  But I do know, with us being in similar circumstances, that if I breathed my germs onto her, and she went back and gave her sibling the germs it could kill them.  For me, while I so wished to meet her in person, the risk was to great.  So I plan to hook up with her, when I am well, and not a directional idiot.

While I am complaining about me being sick, the College student was in the same boat as I, and we coughed in “harmony”.  Somehow, everyone managed to end up in our hotel room that  night, and more family giggles were made.  The Grandbabies were happy, and the parents escaped and left them with us for a bit.  And  Auntie Boo, got a quick lesson, on why she states, she is never having children.

In part two I will tell you how the rest of the trip went, it did get better.  And NO we did not get lost.

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. glad you are home safe and sound….

    1. There is no place like home……:)

  2. Oh you awful for you!

  3. I meant how awful for you!

Leave a Reply

