A Bit Sad…

Every day, we turn on our t.v.’s, and allow our favorite news and weather people into our day-to-day lives.

For me, I always get up in the morning and turn my t.v. onto WCIA News Channel 3, here in Central Illinois.  I have watched The Morning Show for probably about 15 years.    It is one of my favorite ways to start my day.

I feel I know each and every one of the News casting team, and all of the Weather people.    I am friends with most of them on Facebook.

The Morning Show has a trivia game that they play on Mondays and Wednesday’s, It used to be called Collin’s Challenge, and you played against either the Newscaster Rob, or the Weatherman Robert.  I actually called in and won of these games, and have the WCIA Newsleader 3 mug to prove it.  (I drink my coffee out of it every morning)  My phone also blew up that morning, because the Farmer had watched it on t.v.

Our Weatherman Robert Reese, was diagnosed with Cancer a few years ago, and he shared his battle with all of us that watched.  He went into Remission, and all was well for a while.

Robert Reese, was a very contagious laughing spirited person, who loved Zombies.  I have so many memories of funny things he did on air.  When he was diagnosed again with Cancer, he shared it with all of us, his viewers.  He showed us his Christmas present from his Sister, which was a package of mustaches, for when he lost his hair.  He showed us him shaving his head in preparation.

Robert has not been on the air for the past two weeks, and we learned he was battling with pneumonia, in a Chicago hospital.

I have a special affection for Robert, he actually went to his producers for doing a story on Parkinson’s,when I sent him a letter, and he responded with he would do his best.  Also Momma swore that “Bob” was her other husband.

It is with deep sadness that I found out he died this evening.  Heaven just got a new angel.

The Electrician and I are both crying,  and while we both feel maybe a little silly for letting it get to us this much, maybe it’s because Robert Reese was a part of lives for so long, that he feels like family.  I can only hope that his family feels the out pouring of love from all of us.

I don’t have the heart to tell Momma about this.

 

 

2 responses

  1. I am so sorry. My heart goes out to you two and all of his faithful listeners. Damn cancer and Parkinson’s all to hell!

  2. That is terribly sad.

Leave a Reply

