Thanksgiving….My Style, with help….

Today is Thanksgiving, here in the good old U.S. of A.  Plenty of families come together and render themselves into a food coma.

This morning dawned with me waking up and screaming “Oh Crap, I gotta get busy”.   What did I know?  The Electrician has never actually helped me with Thanksgiving in the previous years.   He was usually in charge of grilling or smoking the turkey.  This year was different.  I was cooking all of the turkeys (yes, I had 2) in the flavor-wavor.

The Electrician stepped it up this year.  Yes, he helped me make the oyster stuffing AND the sausage stuffing.  Helped with the Green bean casserole, He was in charge of the Rolls, and the mashed potato‘s.  The man stepped up.  (burp).

I was so far ahead of my schedule, I had time to just sit and watch “Friends” on t.v. cuddled up with my Beloved.  Have you ever just sat and rejoiced in what you have?  I did, today.

The dinner today was amazing, unfortunately, the Nursing Student and I over did it a bit, by simply eating too much before the dinner.  OOPS. My poor Collage student did herself in last night  enough said…

When we had all scarfed enough to feed the world (okay might be a stretch) , I plated up a plate for the Farmer.  I made a deal with all of them, that I would take the plate to Farmer, and they would do the dishes.  (I seriously got the better end of that deal, I got to drive 30 minutes in a food coma)

When I arrived at the Farmer’s, him and Momma were asleep.   I came in, and saw they were both sleeping, and I went up to the Farmer and gently rubbed him arm.  He opened his eyes, and smiled.  I  sush’d him because Momma was truly sleeping, I mean drool and everything.  He came into the kitchen with me and made a plate and then I told him I had to go.  I gave him BIG hugs told him I loved him, kissed my still sleeping Momma and left.  Can I be honest with y’all here? On my day of Thankfulness, I am Thankful she is still here, am I happy she never woke up AND I did not want to wake her up,  No.

I got home and my kids and the Electrician had cleaned up all of the mess from my cooking.   We then watched 2 movies.    I watched the Hunger Games, which I truly thought I would not like and I did, and The Lorax, and Cam-man was truly amazed.

I have had a truly amazing day.  I have counted all my Blessings, I am not looking forward to tomorrow… But will be will be….

During my day, there have been pictures, so the rest is dedicated to that….  uhm…by the way Cam took some of these…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. What a WONDERFUL day – I wish I could have been there!

  2. I am so glad you took food to your family. In the midst of it all, you left no one out!!! What a fabulous woman you are!!!

Leave a Reply

