Confessions of a Parkinson’s Daughter….

The screen was ready and I had already planned about what I would write, I’ve been absent from my blog for a few days.  I gave no warning, and really did not mean to forget you, but sometimes, life gets in the way of the best laid plans.

Tonite’s post was supposed to be about, how I’ve been oh so busy the past few days, and while that is true, I’ve had other issues.

I’ve been for the past few days, doing ‘double time” at the Farmer’s.  Caregiver Beth was sick.  So for a few days, not only did I go over and spend most of the day at the Farmer’s house, I went back in the evenings and put Momma to bed.

Now for me, it’s a given, Momma is one of my priorities.  While I have missed being home, I’ve also missed putting Momma to bed at night.  She sort of rallies at night and becomes a bit more livelier at night, than she is during the day.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve kept the home fires going at the same time.  The Electrician has come home to his meals prepared and ready to be heated up, AND I’ve done all those domestic diva things that I normally do.

Momma is holding her own, she gets a little whacky sometimes, but that is to be expected. Yesterday, she did so well, that I gave her a couple of sips of coffee in the morning, and when I went back that evening…well… ok, I may or may not have snuck her a couple of spoonfuls of gravy, Which she swallowed.  I also may or may not have snuck her a couple of spoonfuls of orange sherbet  Which she swallowed.

When I arrived today, it was kind of funny.  Things have been crazy today.  I arrived at the Farmer’s and got his list for the store and went shopping.  GASP, YES, I went shopping AND might I say pretty darn proud of myself for staying UNDER budget,

I arrived back at the Farmer’s with ALL of my purchases, and the Farmer was pretty happy with all I had gotten.  I wrapped some gifts that went under the tree, and then went to get Momma up.  Momma was a little ray of sunshine on an otherwise gloomy day.  For real folks, it’s snowing, blowing and just down right nasty here today.

Momma picks out the colors she wants to wear each day.  Today it was a Ms. Kitty Sweatshirt and some sweat pants.  Momma did good today, While I recognize that I am very territorial, and I might hover over her a bit.  I’m kinda sad that I do not get to put her to bed tonite.

I’ve made some serious memories of Momma lately, and that’s a good thing.  Because I know those memories will keep me going for a good long while.  But ya know what?  I’m going to keep on making those memories….as long as Momma lets me.

I truly believe we are each given something by each person that comes into our lives.  It’s our journey to find out what it is.  I think I know what Momma is teaching me in a subtle way, it’s taken me a while to understand it.  But I think I am learning the lesson here.  I’m just not ready to share it.

2 responses

  1. I understand completely.

  2. you are getting to experience what others have no idea what they are missing

Leave a Reply

