Monday, Monday, O What a day….

While the title of the blog is for today, I realize that most people will read this on a Tuesday.

Today is the start of a New Year week for me.  I am going to be giving Caregiver Beth Mondays off from now on.  So, today was my “double day”.  Add to the fact that I let the Farmer sleep in and arrived at exactly 7:47am at his house and snuck in the door.  I guess I was quiet because nobody stirred, except for the 2 kitty’s.  They saw me arrive and then begged for treats, which I gave them.  I made myself a cup of coffee, and then got Momma‘s meds ready.

I went in and she was snoring.  I took her temp, listened for “bubbles” and then gave her the meds.  Then I played let’s roll Momma all over the bed, to get her dry.   She slept through the first part, and was grumpy with the second part.

With Momma all settled, I proceeded to look at yesterday’s paper and cut some coupon’s and then figure out what I was going to make for breakfast.  I guess the Farmer was sleeping soundly because he didn’t surface for a bit, heck, I had already swept the kitchen and dining room and did some other cleaning before he made his way out.

When he did make his way out I had to laugh at the “girls” they both acted like they had never had any treats this morning, and he gave them a couple more.    The Farmer and I talked for a bit and I made breakfast, and then off down the road he went, he had some errands he had to do.

I did those domestic diva things, I am supposed to do at my house but, with my Electrician laid off right now, he doesn’t give me a chance to do them.   Uhm, I’m not complaining either, a  Man who cleans up after me, does my laundry, and cooks for me is pure sexiness.    But again I digress….

I had a wild thought in my head today, that I wanted to “clean” Momma’s room and also make it a little bit more “safe” for her.    Time flew away from me, but since I was coming back this evening, I didn’t sweat it.  I took care of stuff and then flew back down the road to my house a little earlier than normal, simply because I was coming back tonite.

During most of my day, I received a phone call from the Nurse, who asked me if she could come over tonite, because she wanted to spend time with us tonite, before she starts back up with school next week.  Knowing that I would be gone tonite with Momma, I set her and the Electrician up to have some “Daddy and Daughter and Grandson” time.  From what electrician  told me it was hit.  I made some chili last night and tonite was  what I call chili spaghetti.  It was a hit with the Nurse, and the Electrician.  From what I’ve been told, the Nurse and the Electrician and Cam-Man had a good evening together.  I am so glad.  It appears there was more than one “Daddy Daughter” nite tonite.

I cooked for the Farmer tonite, I made him something I like to call   “polka keilbasa scalloped potato’s with peas and carrots.  Apparently it was a hit, because there was nothing left over.

When I came back tonite to the Farmer’s I got busy with Momma’s closet.  After about 10 trips of taking stuff down to the basement, I have made her room “safe” for her.    I was really pleased with everything I had done, and the Farmer even said it was better.  Momma?  She liked it, and while she has  been for lack of a better word, good all day, she and I kind of lost it at the end.

I will say this, My emblem that hangs from my mirror on the Rav 4 which has all three of our birthstones in it, is one of the best gifts I have ever received.  Simply for the fact, when I left there tonite, I looked at it, and I reflected on my day.

I have come to the conclusion, Parkinson’s Disease SUCKS.  I have come to the conclusion, I Love my Momma, I have come to the conclusion, I am Blessed with everything I am given at this point.    While the Farmer is living it day-to-day, I do not.  I have spent this past weekend without dealing with it.  Forgive me for being selfish, because I was.  But after not having to deal with it for 2 days, I am a little shell-shocked at the progression of even 2 days.  While the Farmer does not see what I see, I am thankful.

It is what it is.  Ours is just the path to travel.  My only hope, and I know this to be true, is Momma knows she is loved, and taken care of.  The funny thing about that?  She does.

 

2 responses

  1. then i will take it that Al knows I am doing my best too

    1. Do not ever doubt it. They know what we do for them…we may not always see it, but trust me when I say they know…..

Leave a Reply

