Caregiver….Being selfish…

Today was a different day for me.  My routine was challenged, and I proceeded with how it was going to be.   I made an appointment last week that was long over due, and went with it.  You see, I am a Caregiver, and while I spend most of my time giving care, I don’t necessarily take time out of my day to help me.

I am not a fashionista, wearing sweats is usually how I approach my day.  I don’t do the makeup thing, I was never actually tought how to put make-up on, I’ve always winged it.  Most of the time, I for-go it.  period.  While I understand, that the Electrician loves when I dress up, I don’t usually do it.

Today was different for me though.  I made an appointment with my “new” hairdresser last week for this week.  Today was “MY DAY” so to speak. .  I will admit, I felt guilty, first for spending the Electrician’s hard-earned money on me, and 2, well I just don’t normally do that.

When I woke up this morning, I felt a little bit bamboozled and a little lost.  My routine was different.  When I realized, I had time to do the things I normally do, but with a little extra time, I was well….flumoxed.    I did the laundry and vacuumed the floors (up and down), and took all the trash out, not to mention playing on the internet…Geesh…I kinda did not know what to do with myself.

I will admit, I was a little nervous about going to my “new” hairdresser.  I’ve had the same girl do my hair for the last umpteen years, and well, to be honest, a girl’s hair is sacred.For me?  I’ve had Cancer, and I’ve gone through Chemo, and I think that is why I will not let my hair be short, for now….I’ve been bald, on several occassions, and I think that’s why it grows long now, my form of rebellion.   I should have known though.

Today…yes, I am happy.  I’ve had one of the most relaxing days, spent some good time with my hairdresser, and well, I’ve been relaxed all day.  For me, this is the best.  Things with momma are not that good, I will not go into detail other than to say the Farmer has dealt with somethings, that are a regular thing for me.

While today I was selfish, because I truly loved my day, who wouldn’t?  Being pampered and having someone give you a scalp massage and talk to and it being an over all good time?  I did pay it forward though, don’t be mistaken that I didn’t.  When I did arrive at the Farmer’s house, I promptly gave Momma a hair wash, that she even sighed over.  I massaged her scalp, and then blow dried her hair and she was even smiling.  It might have been about an hour after she expected me, but I was there.

I’ve learned some stuff today…  Sometimes, we all need that “special care”, no matter who we are, what we have, and what we are dealing with.  Sometimes, we just need to feel pampered, and then refreshed and then, we can do what we have to.

This is me today…and hat’s off to my hairdresser for making me look good…..

DSCN4199

6 responses

  1. For some reason I didn’t realize you had such long hair OR about the cancer. You look great!

  2. Your hair is beautiful…. now… I know exactly ‘why’ I don’t let my hair be cut short. I understood so well when I read you wouldn’t cut yours, because you’ve lost it several times.I don’t let mine be cut short either, I’ve lost it because of chemo medicines twice. How well I understood.

    I’m sorry I haven’t been reading your posts. I’ve subscribed to my favorites, then…over time wondered ‘what happened to them?’

    Last night I discovered ‘what happened’ …. everything was going to my SPAM! I had over 800 in it… I can’t tell you how bad that made me feel. Each one I had subscribed to … had been going to SPAM all this time…. the thing is… that each one (including yours)… I had chosen to subscribe to, really wanted every day in my Inbox.

    So… now, I can read your posts… if you disappear again…. I will go to that Spam folder. :))) Granny Gee/Gloria

    1. Oh Granny Gee/Gloria, it’s ok, I’ve had that happen to me as well. I can relate to not cutting the hair…. I know I will cut it short one day, but not to soon. 🙂

      1. I am the same way. :))) Not no time soon, though. :))) I wanted mine to grow to the scar where I had surgery..on my back. It’s touching it now.

  3. You look great! We all need to be pampered once in awhile. If I were rich, I’d have someone shampoo my hair for me every day. I love it!

  4. looking good my friend!!!

Leave a Reply

