Whoa….what was I thinking??????

See this little dude?

dancing monkeyThis was way back when, he was first starting to walk, dance and giggle…..

He took naps and didn’t really say very much.

He was very easy to babysit, because he pretty much just ate, slept, played, and moved around a bit.

 

He kept Momma on her toes, and they spent a bunch of time together.  That was back in the day, where Momma was still able to walk, and do some things for herself, she could eat meals, it might have taken her a bit, but she at least got to eat real food.   They both loved ice cream.

DSCN4193See this little dude?  Yes?  Where has the time gone?  He now walks, talks, and is not so easy to babysit anymore.

It has been a bunch of years, since I have dealt with a toddler, considering “my baby” is 29.  Somewhere along the line I forgot, the endless questions….. The biggest one being right now, What is this?, What is this? What is that?  The energy is something else that I am amazed at.

This morning, because the Nurse had a test, she brought this little ray of sunshine to my house at 7 a.m.    I need to just state for the record, I was awake (barely).  The Electrician had left the house about 30 minutes prior to this and he sent Ms. Baby in to wake me up.  Basically, I was woken up by a cat kicking me.  What the heck? It was still dark outside for crying out loud.

I managed to surface and was going for a cup of coffee when this bundle arrived.  He was just as unhappy at being snatched out of  his bed, as I was.  We both stumbled into the kitchen, me for coffee, him for a mug of chocolate milk.  I sat on the couch and turned on the t.v., Cam-man crawled into the rocker, blanket and mug in hand, then perked up when the t.v. came on.

Now Cam and I have a couple of favorite t.v. shows that we have watched all throughout his tender 2 1/2 years of growing up.  Curious George is a serious favorite of both of us.  After finishing our respective drinks, it was time for breakfast.  Cam picked out his Oatmeal for the day, and I made it and he scarfed it down.  We both got dressed and then the phone rang.  Now, honestly in my house if the phone rings before 8 am, I get nervous.  I get REALLY nervous, when the call is from the Farmer.  The Farmer was calling me to make sure I arrived at his house by 9;30, he thought he would be catching me sleeping, but guess what?  Nope I was more than half way ready to go to his house!

Cam and I did some things around my house, and then headed on down the road.  The drive to the Farmer’s almost did Cam in and his eyes were droopy.  We arrived, and Cam perked up, and then swagged into the Farmer’s to show the Farmer his new hat that he got over the weekend.

The Farmer left to do his errands, and Cam and I did some stuff around there.  We decided to go outside for a bit, even though it was not really a nice day, it was still a bit warmer than it has been.  We played a game, and Cam-man raced down the wheelchair ramp and I climbed down the stairs, we both ran to the Rav 4 touched it and then ran back.  We played races for about 20 minutes.

It was time to go in and get Momma up, and Cam helped me bring all of her bath stuff into her room, and then sat on the bed while Momma got her bath.  Momma and Cam kept up a chatter the whole time.  When it was time for Mom to get up, Cam went running into the living room to get the Farmer, he grabbed his hand and dragged him into the room.

Momma made it out into the living room and Cam, being the kid he is, had run in front of us and had his stool in front of momma’s chair and was sitting there waiting for her.  Unfortunatly, we had to kick him out of the chair, and Momma got seated and situated.

Cam picked up all of his toys that were thrown everywhere, and we got ready to leave.  We gave kisses and then I loaded Cam up and away we went.  We had not even gone about a mile down the road and I looked in the back seat, and little dude was fast asleep, with his blanket and thumb in place.    I drove back to our town and called the Nurse, when I was right around the corner from her house, and told her to meet me in the garage.    Cam was unloaded and I don’t think he ever woke up.

I arrived home and finished everything I had left to do.  I was just sitting here, reflecting on my day, and I was thinking to myself.  First, I was wondering what I got myself into, then I realised, that this is all a Blessing.  Cam, helps so much with Momma in a way I cannot describe.  She is enjoying it, and the Farmer is enjoying his company.  I can handle all of the questions, What is this? What is that?   I can proudly say that Cam, can now count to 10, can recite half of his abc’s, and he is not even 3 yet.

One of his major things, is he kept calling me Teacher this morning, until I asked him, Cam…who am I?  He looked at me, and then he said Meemaw.    So, I guess, not only am I Meemaw, I guess I am a Teacher too.  I’m cool with that……..

DSCN4194

 

 

4 responses

  1. a real uplifting post today!!

  2. I need to have a nap after reading this!

  3. He is SO cute! Reading your day reminds me of the fun we had babysitting our 4 year old nephew a week ago. He accidentally called me “mommy” once or twice which warmed my heart. When I used to teach kindergarten, the students once in awhile would do the same thing – just a slip of the tongue in a comfortable situation but adorable just the same.

  4. […] Whoa….what was I thinking?????? (camsgranny.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

