Little Dude, Doctor’s Visit and Surgery…..

I’ve already filled y’all in on my Monday of this week, but after that, things kind of went downhill from there.  I would have posted that post on Monday, as I had originally planned, but well, welcome to my goofy world.  The post disappeared into cyber space and I have just now found it again.

maybe it didn’t disappear, and I just lost it?  Who knows….onto the rest of my fun-filled action packed week…..

By Tuesday it was evident that little dude was not up to his normal stuff, and it was decided we would make a Doctor’s appointment for him.  The Nurse made his appointment and due to obligations for the remainder of the week, we negotiated and I would take little dude to the Doctor by Wednesday.

On Wednesday, we headed out and did our fun-filled activities at the Farmer’s house, and left a little early so we could head to the Doctor’s. We also had a plan of action today as well.  Cam-Man knew after the Doctor’s visit, he would be getting some ice cream.

We arrived at the Doctor’s and after giving the appropriate paperwork, we sat down to wait.  They called Cam-Man’s name and he swaggered into the exam room.  He knew what he was there for.  We went out after taking off his coat, and little dude got weighed, and is now a full 30 pounds, and then measured for his height.

Back into the exam room, and the nurse asked why we were there today, Cam pointed to his ears and nose, and also his underarm.    When his regular Doctor came in, she was a little disappointed that it was Meemaw and not the Nurse who was with Cam (she loves to hear the Nurse laugh).  Cam told her he was coughing, and had  “yucky” ears, and also a bunch of skin tags under his arm.  We got our prescription and were on our way.  After loading up into the Rav4, we drove home, and Cam got his ice cream.

Thursday was my double day, so I brought Cam with me in the morning, and the Farmer and Cam played for a bit, and then I came back and put Momma back to bed.  I kind of had to prep her for the next day (Friday), because there were events planned she had no idea about.

When Friday am arrived, I got up in the dark, and drove over to the Farmer’s, the plan was for him to sleep in, and I would get things ready.  You see, Momma was having surgery to replace her g-tube (aka tummy tube) today.  Due to the surgery, I was only allowed to give her the first round of med’s in the morning with a minimal amount of water.  When I woke her up and gave her the meds I told her, “We are going on an adventure today, so I will let you go back to sleep for a bit, but then I am coming in and getting you up at about 9:15 am OK?”  She mumbled something but was okay with it.

When I came back to get her up, she was a little feisty, and ready to roll.  Things went pretty smoothly, and I was able to get her dressed, into her wheelchair and out to the car and then into the car with no problems.    She actually was kind of fun on the car ride there, because she was talking up a storm, noticing new things on the drive, and then when we arrived at the Surgery center, she kind of quieted down.  After getting her out of the car and arriving, she went straight up Parks, and I knew we were in trouble.

We went in and let them know she was there.  The Nurse came out and took Momma back with her, but came out a few minutes later with some questions, then came back a few minutes later with more questions, so I asked her if it was okay, if I came back with her.  When I got back to the “prep” room, Momma was for lack of a better term, “Parked up”.  So, I did what I normally do, and got her undressed into a gown and onto the gurney (by myself) (this is not being disrespectful to the Nurses in any way).  Momma was scared.  I knew this, so while I was getting her undressed and into a gown, I was making jokes and getting giggles, and trying to relieve the tension, that you could cut with a knife.    I answered all of the Nurses question’s, and I kept telling Momma, she had to remember her name and ALSO her birthdate, because she was going to have to tell a Nurse that information.

Momma was prepped, and I took her picture all ready for surgery, out of privacy for Momma, I will not post it, but I did show it to her after we got home and she smiled.  They took Momma off and I sat with the Farmer while the “deed was done”.

I had asked the Nurse if she would come and help after Momma had surgery, and she told me to call her when it was over.    Now, I will be honest with y’all here, I know it was a routine surgery, but I am here to tell you, NOTHING with a PD patient is routine, so I was nervous.  When the Doctor came out and called Momma’s name, the Farmer and I went into the little “discussion” room they have. Momma did well with flying colors, and there were only a couple of things that concerned him.  After discussing the problems,  we were told we could see her in about 20 minutes.

I called the Nurse, who said she would be there in a few.  The Farmer and I were allowed to go and see Momma.  She looked so peaceful, and had answered the Nurse’s questions about her name and birthdate.  We waited while Momma came out of the anesthesia, and when she woke up, well….she wasn’t really happy with me.

The Nurse arrived and kind of took over.  (THANK GOODNESS FOR DAUGHTERS).  I left Cam-Man with his G’pa and went back in to help however I could but the Nurse, already had Momma dressed and into the wheelchair.  (WHEW).  So, I loaded up Cam into his Momma’s car, and he and I took off to go open up the house and get it ready for when they arrived.

When the Farmer arrived, we had the house almost opened up, and the Nurse got Momma into her wheelchair and we got her cleaned up and into bed.  Momma was still cross with me, but she was ok.

Momma is sporting a new g-tube, and after the Nurse gave her a feeding and her meds, Momma was a happy camper.    She went back to sleep, but did tell all of us, she really did love us.

So….that was my week, my weekend was another adventure, as the Electrician and I were keeping Cam-Man for another sleepover…..stay tuned for that one…..

4 responses

  1. Thank you for thw update. Although the time was another relatively rough one, I’m glad it ended well.
    Russ

    1. Me too, at this stage in the game, nothing is a given….but Momma did good, me…well…I have recovered…:) Thanks Russ!!!

  2. I am glad the surgery went well for all of you involved

  3. You must be exhausted.

Leave a Reply

