Welcome to my day….

This morning when I woke up, I was a little groggy around the edges, but managed (with the help of something called coffee), to pull myself together before a cranky little 2 1/2-year-old arrived at my house.

Now yesterday,this little dude was a little ray of sunshine….

DSCN4407DSCN4405

 

 

 

It was a sunny day, and we played outside, did a walk of the grounds, looked at bugs, Swept off the porch, and took care of Momma.    After leaving the Farmer’s house yesterday, he and I actually went to the park for about 1/2 an hour before I took him home.  He did wrangle a promise out of me, though, that we could go back to the park today.

When little dude arrived today, he was…well…a little on the cranky side.    After crying for a minute, I got him to calm down, and blow his Momma a kiss out of the window, and then explained a ritual that my family has.

When the Nurse pulled away from my house, she honked her horn 3 times.  (short honks).  I asked Cam-man if he knew what it meant.  When he told me no, I told him let’s go get breakfast, and I’ll explain.  After getting his cereal (which today he wanted his Papa’s cereal and not his), we sat down and I told him the story.

How when his Auntie Boo was little and his Papa used to go see her, whenever he would leave, he would always honk his horn 3 times, and it meant “I Love You”.  So that every one in the family now does this when we leave each other’s house.  So that when his Momma left him at my house this morning, even though she felt bad, because Cam-Man was crying and did not tell her by, she was still telling him  “I Love You”.  Little dude got very wide-eyed, and almost sniffled again, and told me “I love my Mom”.  We had a little conversation about how maybe sometimes when he was tired, he should ALWAYS try to tell his Mom he loved her.

With all of THAT straightened out, after breakfast, he and I headed to the park this morning, because it was supposed to start raining soon.    We hung out and did some hard playing for about 30 minutes, and then headed to the Farmer’s.  We had quite the conversation in the car, and I realised, that sometimes, the best conversations, are with younger people, who are looking for answers, and in a way they understand them.

We arrived at the Farmer’s right before the rain, and little dude was happily playing at being a pirate.  The Farmer had to run out and do a couple of errands, so Cam and I checked on Momma several times, and she was a little snoozy today, so we let her snooze.

Cam and I did the things we do, and he is such a good helper, he loves to sweep, and also to take out the trash.   I did have to laugh though because we found a new game, where he walks up my body and then stands on my shoulders.  He even told the Farmer “Look Pawpaw, I’m tall”.

It was time for me to go in and get Momma up for the day, and little dude decided to go into pirate mode, and come in and “scare” Momma and me.  I think he got a little nervous, when momma growled back at him, so he went into the front room to “growl” at the Farmer.

Now I really do have to pause here for a second and let you know, that the  78-year-old Farmer can “growl” with the best of them, and Momma and I were in fits of giggles in the bedroom over the 2 in the front room, being pirates.  At one point, Momma stated “cheekiness at it’s best”, when I asked her who was being “cheeky”  she told me, both of them.

Cam did not want to let go of the Farmer and actually had him in a “love hold”, when I came out to get the Farmer, to help me with Momma.    Cam grabbed his “B” (blanket) and went and sat in the chair and watched us get Momma up.

Momma did pretty good today, and actually got a neck and back massage by me first and then Cam.  She was so totally relaxed, she went back to sleep in her chair.  Cam and I packed up and headed out.  When we were leaving the driveway though, Cam shouted to me “honk, honk, honk”.  I didn’t get what he was saying, until I had driven off, and he brought to my attention, that I don’t honk when leaving the Farmer’s house, and maybe I should.

When we got the Nurse’s house, he did not want to be there, he wanted to go to my house and see his “Papa“.  After talking to him, and giving him my hat, he seemed ok, and as I was getting ready to leave, his Dad showed up, and he was happily playing in the garage with his Dad.  (This kid is ALL boy).

When I went to back up,  I looked at Cam and he was waving at me, so I honked 3 times, and that little kid, blew me a kiss.

My lesson today, you ask?  Sometimes I take things for granted and also, as just the norm.  I’ve decided that when I leave the Farmer’s house from now on, I will carry on the tradition of honking 3 times, just to let the Farmer and Momma know, that even though I do not say it enough, I Love them.

This little dude is teaching me, as I am teaching him.   I think sometimes we are both learning together.  But I’m serious when I say, I never knew the Farmer could be THAT loud when playing, nor did I know Momma could growl like a perfect pirate.

Thank you to the Nurse for giving me her gift….I think he is truly cherished by the Farmer, (who states, I kinda like that kid), to Momma who says “cheeky little dude, but my buddy”, to me, who Thanks God for him, and all he has brought me and my parents.

One response

Leave a Reply

