A Special Day to me…….

While I am writing this tonite, it all actually happened yesterday, but…yestersay was a VERY long day for me and I have still to recoup.    I guess I’ll start, at the beginning…..

Yesterday, I woke up at o’dark thirty, and slugged back a half a cup of coffee and then flew down the road, to get Cam-man.  His Momma had to work, and he was going to spend the day with me.  Normally, when I arrive, Cam-man is still sleeping, and I have “play with Bella the dog time”.  Wasn’t in the cards, Cam man opened up the door and was very happy to see me.  I grabbed his clothes, and his “B” (blanket), and he was already in my car with his belt buckled.  To tell you what he said to me “Hurry Jo, Papa leave for work, HONK HONK get out of our way, I gotta see Papa”.

We flew back to my house and made it with a few minutes to spare, and the “love fest” lasted for a few minutes, then Papa had to go on down the road, as Cam Man says “Papa goes to work to make the $$ for us”.  I had to laugh, simply because I asked Cam, “Where’s your Daddy?”  his response “At work making trains for $$”.  “Cam, where’s your Mom?” “She’s at school?”  “No, she is at work”, “Mom’s at work, making $$ for me”.  I asked Cam, “Where’s Jo?”  he looked at me like I had lost my mind, and said “Here with me silly”.

We already had a very active day planned.  We got breakfast, and I think little dude was hungry, because when I asked him what he wanted, “Chocolate milk, and Papa’s cereal”.  After polishing off a bowl of cereal, he wanted a bowl of oatmeal too.

We got busy and set out Papa’s clothes for his workday the next day, folded laundry, ran the vacuum cleaner, cleaned Cam’s room, and also cleaned the bathroom.  We were done with all of our cleaning, and Cam looked at me in all seriousness of an almost 3-year-old and asked “Jo, we play outside now?”. Well….what do you say to that?

DSCN4499We had finished everything by about 8:45 am, so we went outside.  Cam had set up his trucks to “catch” his life-size tennis ball, and we played with that for a bit, seeing if we could get it to roll into the trucks.  The novelty of that wore off, and the true “boy” in Cam cam out when he grabbed his dump truck and went to his own dirt pile.

DSCN4502

DSCN4503He is very concentrated in his efforts to fill up the dump truck and then empty it and then start all over.    This kid truly enjoys being outside, and if the sun is shining, his philosophy is forget about being inside, let’s go outside.  I don’t need t.v., I need my dirt, dump truck and I’m really happy with a John Deere tractor.

We got cleaned up (sort of), and headed on down the road to Papa Dan’s house.  We went the back way, and saw cows, deer and tractors.  Cam got a little confused at the way went at first but once we hit the river, he knew exactly where we were.    I turned up the radio, and I secretly giggled, at the fact, Cam was singing to the radio.  I’m not sure if he knew what the words were, but he was singing.

When we got to Papa Dan’s the first thing he asked was, “Papa Dan, you get your tractor out for me?”

DSCN4509Well, after Papa Dan, played on his tractor, he parked it, and let Cam have a go.  This picture makes my heart melt.  Two very important people in my life, and it cracks me up.

DSCN4508Papa Dan is teaching Cam safety and told him, he could not go anywhere until he fastened his seat belt.  Look at the concentration on his face.  Cam was ready.DSCN4507

This one just cracked me up, because he was giving me his “I’m so happy” face.

While Papa Dan and Cam were having fun in the barn, I went in and got busy with Momma.    Momma was in rare form today.  She was happy and full of life and energy.  I told her how nice it was outside and asked her if she wanted to go for a walk outside with Papa Dan, and Cam and I, and she was ready.  She picked out her clothes, and after her bath, and stuff, she was ready.  DSCN4512

We got her into the wheelchair and we all headed outside.  Folks, this is the first time Momma has been outside in probably about 3 months.  The fact she WANTED to go outside was a plus to me.  The fact she ENJOYED being outside was even better.  The fact that she had a GOOD time, did not get nervous or upset, is PRICELESS, to me.

DSCN4513

While it may look like I have Momma in a head lock, I really don’t, if the picture had been taken a few seconds earlier, all three of us where holding hands.

This to me is a BEYOND PRICELESS day.

Yes, this was yesterday.  Today, not so much, but ya know what?  It’s ok.  Everyday cannot be a “priceless day”, and with so many good one’s I knew a bad one was coming, but at the same token, it wasn’t that bad.

To cap the end of a very long week, that’s had it’s up’s and down’s, I’ll take every moment, because to me the memories are worth it.  The fact I have them on film is even better.  I haven’t shared all of those moment’s with ya’ll, but some things, are just to special to share.

I learned some lesson’s this week.  But at the end of the day, I am Blessed by ALL of the people in my life.  Thank you guys from me, to my family, to my friends, to my readers….

One response

  1. Oh, Jo, this is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

