The Joys…..

DSCN4507See this little face?  I had the pleasure of spending the day with him today.    I got my unhappy butt out of bed at o’dark thirty am, and brushed my teeth, got dressed grabbed a cup of coffee and flew down the road to his house.

I was met by Bella the dog and the Nurse, who blew kisses to me, as she left for work.  Lil’ dude was still sleeping, so Bella and I shared some, “she thinks her 40lb butt is a lap dog, while she loved all over me” time.  Bella finally settled down and we spent a little quiet time together, she really likes her ears rubbed.  (Uhm, please y’all don’t tell Ms. Baby the cat, I’ve been cheating on her ok?)

I heard lil dude waking up, and knew, he would come out of his room and go straight for his parents room, where he would crawl up onto their bed and curl up with whoever was there and go back to sleep, at least that is his usual routine.  I didn’t count on him, to see me sitting on the couch and the joy that lit up his face and he ran into my arms.  I scooped him up and he was giggling, and talking a mile a minute, “Hi Jo, you got me today?  We go to Papa Dan’s?  We go play with tractors?  You got oatmeal?”  And then he took a breath.  I guess it was a reunion, I haven’t seen him since last Thursday, when he spent the day with me.

We spent a few minutes just snuggling, and then Bella decided she wanted to snuggle with both of us, and all sorts of giggling, and licking and crazy stuff happened.  We got up and lil dude had to show me “I’m a big boy now Jo, watch”.   Yes, somewhere along the past few days, lil dude is almost potty trained (so much for the new batch of diapers I bought, but that’s a good thing really).

After getting lil dude dressed, complete with mickey mouse big boy briefs, we grabbed his backpack, packed a few things into it, as in a spare change of clothes,  5 favorite toys, his blankey and a sippy cup, we headed down the road.  I had to get gas, so we made a pit stop at the local Casey’s, and got some gas.  We then went in to pay and lil dude had to have “bug juice” in a Woody sippy cup (Woody as in Toy Story), and then he thought Papa Dan would like a donut, so he picked one out for him, and away we went.

Papa Dan had to visit the Vampire this morning, and that’s why we hurried over, so we could give Momma her first round of meds.  Imagine our surprise, when we arrived, Papa Dan was already home, and smiled big when he saw Cam-man.  The first words out of Cams mouth were “Papa Dan, we go see your tractors now PWEASE?”.  Cam settled down, we all decided to have breakfast first.

I in my infinite wisdom, had packed a bag from my house to bring with me this morning, it had 3 different choices of Oatmeal, 2 banana’s and some diapers, and a couple of Cam’s favorite snacks in it.

After Cam and Papa Dan had a breakfast of Oatmeal, although Cam was a little miffed because Papa Dan’s had raisins and his didn’t.   Papa Dan went to run to the store and Cam and I did some stuff around the house.  We swept the kitchen and dining room, and cleaned up some messes we had made on the kitchen floor, when we had a water fight in the sink. We watched a little t.v. and just had a good time.

Cam kept cracking me up though, because it was every 1/2 an hour, he was ready to go potty, but had to have me help a little.  We had already set up his stool by the toilet, and he knew to stand on it, but he couldn’t pull his shorts down without help.  This kid seriously cracks me up, after going, he proudly looks at me and says, “I tapped it Jo, no drips”.  I kept telling him, he was doing good, and he did ALL DAY long, there were no accidents.

Papa Dan and Cam went out to look at the tractors, and I had to laugh when, Cam told Papa Dan, he liked the cub lawn mower better than the John Deere, because of the steering wheel.

When it was time to get Momma up, Cam came in to help me, and Momma started giggling right off the bat, and said, ‘My Goodness, he is a giggle and cheeky too.”.

Fun times were had by all today, and it is such a change from the regular “doom and gloom”.   After leaving Papa Dan’s house, Cam came to my house, and we played in his sandbox for about an hour.  First I buried his feet, then he buried mine.  We both giggled a bunch!

I didn’t worry about what chores I had to do, I just had fun and  enjoyed my time with such a cool little person, although I may be biased.  But seriously…..looking at this face, it still makes me melt….

DSCN4585It also brings to mind so many giggles, I had and needed today.  Out of the mouths of a 3-year-old, especially when he was trying to figure out, how much older papa Dan was, and said to me, “Jo?  Your Daddy is old”.  I could do nothing but laugh, and say, “Yes, Cam-Man, he is, but he gets around,  and has good toys huh?”  he replied  “UH HUH, and  I  like his  twacters….”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

