Happy Birthday!!!!

This is a little early, but I wanted it to be special.  You see while America celebrates it’s Birthday on July 4th, someone very special to me celebrates a birthday as well.DSCN4509

That would be my Dad aka The Farmer.  We have had lively discussions the past few days, and he has shared some of his stories with me about his “growing years”.   (He’s done that most of my life, but the juicy stories have come out, now that I am officially an Adult, guess I had to get to 50 before that happened).

Things Dad did for entertainment, take the wagon apart, and put it back together ON TOP of the barn, that’s when he was a little tyke.

He’s always been a Farmer at heart, and loves his John Deere.    He did a stint in the Navy, and even today, still gets the Navy newspaper.  I was born in a Naval Hospital, and then remember San Diego, when he was stationed at Miramar.   I was little then, but do have memories, of those times.  Dad got out of the Navy, and joined his other love, Airplanes.

He took me across the pond and we lived in England, for me, until I came home at the age of 18, but he stayed there for about 22-24 years, (Okay, I’m working on memory here, and I’m sure it will hit me after he reads this).  Dad showed me most of Europe by the time I was 16.  It was a fun time in my memory, and we did make lots of memories.

His true love, Annie, and he came back the U.S.A. and I came to live with them for a time.  He got back to his roots, and has loved his farmer’s ways.    That’s probably why I call him the Farmer.

My Dad turns 79 years old today.  When you think about it, that’s a long time.  Or as I like to tell him, he is older than dirt.   When I look at Dad, I see my Grandma, they are cut from the same cloth, and I see both of them.  These people have molded me and tought me a bunch of stuff.

I can only hope to live to be 79 years old and still be in control and full of it, tehe, (I had to add that in there.)

I guess what I am saying is Happy Birthday Dad, I didn’t get you a card, but I will be cooking you a meal that will blow your socks off, and I will be there to spend the day with you and Momma, and the Electrician is coming too.

All those fireworks that are going off, well…the rest of the country is celebrating what a wonderful man you are, oh yea, and America’s birthday too.  (wink)

Leave a Reply

