Macaroni and Cheese…Epic fail…

 

Today, as  usual was a cooking Sunday, I was ready.  I had a rack of baby back ribs, that I smothered in a dry rub, let them sit in said rub for about an hour and  slapped those puppies in the oven.  Low and slow.

The question was, what to make with them?  I googled some idea’s, I asked a friend.  My mind was made up, I was going to make Baked Beans, and Macaroni and cheese.

Let me just state for the record,  I have attempted to make Mac and cheese (from scratch) so many times, to come up extremely short.  While I appreciate the fact, the Electrician attempts to swallow my offerings, today’s was bad.

While I can make Boef a la Bougnoin, and other french dishes, and cook like a fiend any type of Mexican cooking, and may I say, I can cook Chicken and Dumplings with the best of them.  This Macaroni and cheese thing, well….  let’s just say, I’ve made dog food that tasted better.

So, I cannot for the life of me figure out how to make the traditional all American meal of Macaroni and Cheese.

The Electrician has gotten to the point where he has asked me ever so gently, to forget about it.

I guess there are some things I was never meant to cook.  Macaroni and cheese, must be one of them.

 

4 responses

  1. i tried……………………..

  2. If you don’t mind some unsolicited advice, making good mac is really about making a good Roux. It’s just equal parts of butter and flour mixed together until they get thick and the flour “loses its raw taste.” Basically, until just before the butter would start to turn brown. Then you SLOWLY add your milk and whisk briskly, a little at a time. When you have a thickened white sauce, you can turn it into anything from a cheddar cheese to an Alfredo. I hope that wasn’t unwelcome advice… 😉

    1. Thank you!, no advice is ever turned away, I can make a really good roux when I do gumbo, and etoufe, since it is the same concept, I’ll give it a try.

Leave a comment